Sweet and Sassy Hash Browns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Great recipe, love it when healthy and tasty combine in one easy to prepare dish. Hint, the sweet potato rearly cooks down. I thought I had too much grated, but when cooked it was just enough. Thanks for great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Author calls the main ingredient both "sweet potato" and "yam" -- which is it? I used a sweet potato (light yellow-colored flesh, as opposed to yams, with deep orange flesh), about a half cup of green onions, and left out the brown sugar. Delicious. Like others I had trouble getting them to brown - will have to try again as both hubby and I thought the flavor was excellent, just came out a little mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
It was very good, but I'm a moron when it comes to making hashbrowns on the stove top. I finally gave up and put it in the oven at 375 for 10 minutes (after it had already cooked on the stove top for another 10). Next time, I'll just use the oven at a higher heat. It's easier, and it turns out better. I used half of a chili pepper from my garden instead of the chipotle, and I also used a clove of fresh garlic. A lot of the comments say to add cumin, and I'm going to try that next time or maybe a whole chili. I shouldn't have been so scared of heat. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Carriço

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I didn't have chipotle chili powder but I did have pico de gallo con limon seasoning thAt I used with reg chili powder. My oh my was it good even better with eggs. My new favorite breakfast. Wonderful layers of flavor. Mmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This was super good! We made it for a sleep-in Sunday breakfast & were pleasantly surprised by how delicious it was. Next time we make it, I think I'll either leave the brown sugar totally out, or cut it back. While I loved the sweet & savory combination, I think the sweet potatoes are sweet enough on their own. Unexpectedly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
This was delicious! A nice change-up to breakfast I've since made it a few times for my honey who loves anything sweet potato. I made it exactly as it says and they were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReadMyLips26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Made these this morning and they were delicious. I also didn't have any chipotle chili powder so I used chili powder and cumin. I did omit the brown sugar as I don't like overly sweet sweet potatoes. And I found the same thing as others in that they didn't hold together like traditional hash browns, and started to burn a bit in the first step of cooking. Just keep an eye on them and "flip" when they look brown. Overall a pretty delicious substitute for white potato hashbrowns!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Delicious - a different twist on hash brown potatoes. I didn't have chipotle chili powder so I used cayenne powder instead. These browned up nicely and went well with 'Bacon Cheese Frittata' another AR recipe. The next time, I think I will omit the brown sugar and just use the garlic powder and chili powder. I wasn't overly crazy about the brown sugar, but loved the spiciness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I finally tried it!! It's a great tasting recipe, healthier than hash browns, and I would definitely make it again...and again. My husband REALLY loved it! I made it exactly as the recipe says, but maybe added a slight pinch more of the Chipolte Chili Powder. For those that don't know what the Chipolte Chili Powder is, I find it in the spice section of the grocery store with the McCormick Gourmet Collection spices. Good luck and enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palmdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I love sweet potatoes, and this dish brought out their flavor in such a great way. I added a little extra cumin and it went perfect with eggs for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraKA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Hash Browns

Chef John shows you how to make diner-style hash browns with a perfect crust.

Emily’s Famous Hash Browns

See how to make old-fashioned restaurant-style hash browns.

Cheesy Hash Browns

It’s like a fully loaded baked potato, casserole-style, for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States