Sweet and Salty Toll House® Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by CoOkInGnUt
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
These cookies did not last long around my house! Very unique and full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoOkInGnUt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk City, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by Cheryl King
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
These are a big hit at my house. After eating a couple of bites, and telling me she LOVED them, I told my nine year old what was in them. When she heard that they had potato chips in them, her eyes got as wide as plates. Potato chips in cookies? They're yummy. I made a few changes, not by choice, but by necessity. First change was that I made a double batch, since I needed TONS. My girls had eaten away at most of my semi sweet chips, so I had to use some milk. In the doubling of the batch, I found that the add ins (pretzels, chips, peanuts & chips) were just too many, so I ended up using about 1 and a half bags of semi sweet chips, half a bag of milk chips, 2 cups crushed chips, one cup broken pretzels, and 1/2 cup peanuts. The other change I made was that I made them twice the recommended size - two Tablespoons of dough for each cookie. This meant they needed more baking time, about 14-15 minutes. I still have some dough balls in the refrigerator to bake next week, closer to the time I will be gifting them, and some dough in the refrigerator, which I will be baking later as well. These are just perfect, crunchy edges, soft chewy middles, sweet, salty, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Photo by Angela Sackett
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
if you're gonna be naughty, this is the way to go. oh, my - could be called "kitchen sink - everything but" but it wouldn't sound as yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I baked these in muffin tins and added the potato chip the last couple of minutes of baking. The kidlets thought they were fun "chip dip" cookies. I thought they were just ok.Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Photo by Lin-DUH
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
These were pretty good, but they were a little strange. If I made them again, I would definitely omit the potato chips -- to me, they added a strange texture. The peanuts, pretzels and chocolate chips were delicious, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin-DUH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
These were SO GOOD. I wasn't sure about the pretzels, but they made a great addition. The kids can't get enough either. I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
These were actually much better than I expected. I made them as recipe selection for the Allrecipes Allstars month of December. I accidentally bought unsalted pretzels. They worked fine, because I chose to add the optional peanuts and they were lightly salted and not unsalted. I would highly recommend adding the peanuts. I did slightly chop them though. I liked the textures and blend of salty and sweet. However, to be honest the potato chips are what did not work for me. They lost their crispness, and took on a chewy texture, and I used the ruffled kind recommended. Their flavor was too dominant also somewhat. I would try something like this again, for the different textures, but just leave the chips out. I made 1/2 recipe and got 35 cookies using a standard cookie scoop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Life Tastes Good
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I made these as the recipe states and did include the optional peanuts. I would leave the peanuts out next time, as the flavor is overpowering. I love the salty taste the pretzels and chips bring to these cookies. I recommend making the dough a day ahead and letting it rest in the fridge overnight before baking. It dramatically affects the flavor for the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Love the combo of sweet and salty! Here is what I did: I used salted peanuts and broke them up a bit. I broke up the pretzels as directed. I also crushed the potato chips into 1/2 - 3/4 inch pieces. I found that the smaller sizes help with a more even distribution and equal salty flavors in each bite. Next time I will omit the potato chips because we found they really didn't add much to the cookie and we could barely taste it. I froze these, and once thawed, they were equally as delicious and the texture remained unchanged. I don't bake often, but when I do, I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I expected these cookies to be really salty, they weren't but they are really sweet. Like another reviewer said, there is too much going on here. You never know what the next bite is going to bring. These were not a big hit in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States