Sweet and Salty Toll House® Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I made these cookies a couple months ago. I followed the recipe exact, only using organic ingredients, a mixture of semi-sweet and dark chocolate chips, Kettle chips and Rold Gold pretzles. These were extremely well loved by this family. They really did not last long. Very, very good. I suggest that you chill the dough for an hour to firm up the dough slightly and let the cookies cool on a baking sheet for a minute or two before trying to take them off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Great combination of sweet and salty all rolled into one fabulous treat! This was a wonderful take on a classic chocolate chip cookie. No matter what brand of chips, pretzels and peanuts you use this is sure to please. I baked these on parchment paper and be sure to chill the dough so it's easier to work with. I made the recipe exactly and had great results. Perfect warm out of the oven with an ice cold glass of milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
When I saw this recipe, I thought- wow! All that is right in the world (and wrong!) in one recipe. But after making, it is just too much for one cookie. They are not bad, just not great. All the ingredients leave it with a trail mix kinda feeling. Plus I find that there is too much variety from bite to bite. I probably will not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcook45

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
These are the greatest! I love the combo of sweet and salty and these fit the bill! I made exactly as is and will never change it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula T
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I'm a sweet & salty girl, so this recipe was for me. The changes: I decreased the chocolate chips by half and added some red & green m&ms. also added potato sticks, crumbled, instead of the potato chips, and the rest was per the recipe. Loving them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
These are yummy. It's a nice change from the plain old chocolate chip cookie. I made a half batch and got two dozen cookies. I did not use the peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tasteeone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by korilynne
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Another hit in our house! I absolutley loved the combination of sweet and salty. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Photo by tcsangel
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I wasn't sure I would like these cookies, but they are good!! I made them today and gave them to all the neighbors and they loved them too! So, they sound odd, but try them, they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcsangel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I was a bit disappointed with these. I agree with other reviewers, perhaps just too much going on in these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
To say that I started making these cookies with a little trepidation would be an understatement. I mean, really, this is a recipe you would concoct after one too many glasses of wine. It didn’t help matters to have your husband looking over your shoulder having a melt-down that there were potato chips in his beloved Toll House cookies. Man up Sweetie. The end product was ok, but it depended on what ingredients were in each bite you were tasting. We love Toll House cookies, but the flavors in this recipe were too convoluted for us. The old adage, “if it it’s not broke, don’t fix it” comes to mind. We’ll stick with the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States