Sweet and Salty Toll House® Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Paula T
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I'm a sweet & salty girl, so this recipe was for me. The changes: I decreased the chocolate chips by half and added some red & green m&ms. also added potato sticks, crumbled, instead of the potato chips, and the rest was per the recipe. Loving them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
These were good, but I think I'm going to stick with my tried-and-true Nestle chocolate chip cookie recipe. I, too, left out the potato chips at the advice of other reviewers, as I've had soggy potato chips before. I did add the pretzels, and unfortunately, didn't like them that much (and I'm a BIG salty and sweet fan.) One thing that did pleasantly surprise me was the peanuts. They added a nice touch of salty without being overbearing like the pretzels seemed to be. I'm interested to see what happens when I just add peanuts, because I'm on board that cookie train!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
The cookie was good, but, honestly I can't say that the addition of the potato chips or the pretzels really did anything for this cookie. The only difference I really noticed was that you got a crunchy bite when you bit down on a pretzel. Probably will just stick to the plain chocolate chip cookie recipe instead of having the added expense of two extra ingredients that in my opinion didn't enhance the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by ibbz
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Family liked this cookie quite well. We prefer a soft cookie so I added a piece of bread to the container I had the cookies in and the cookies stayed soft but the chips and pretzels seemed to stay crunchy. They only lasted a few days and were enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ibbz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
To say that I started making these cookies with a little trepidation would be an understatement. I mean, really, this is a recipe you would concoct after one too many glasses of wine. It didn’t help matters to have your husband looking over your shoulder having a melt-down that there were potato chips in his beloved Toll House cookies. Man up Sweetie. The end product was ok, but it depended on what ingredients were in each bite you were tasting. We love Toll House cookies, but the flavors in this recipe were too convoluted for us. The old adage, “if it it’s not broke, don’t fix it” comes to mind. We’ll stick with the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Staci
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
We really liked these. They were fun to make and even more fun to eat. Not as "over-the-top" delicious as I was hoping, but definitely will be made again at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Wow. There's a lot going on in these cookies! First let me state that I tweaked these a bit - we don't eat potato chips in our house, so I didn't have any on hand to include in this recipe. Thinking about what would provide a salty complement to the chocolate chips I substituted salted, chopped cashews for the potato chips, and I omitted the peanuts. Otherwise I followed the recipe as written. In my opinion these cookies were just, OK. My kids ate two each and said they were good, but definitely not a new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I love Toll House cookies and find this recipe as proof you shouldn't mess with perfection. Although, I love pretzels and potato chips, they don't enhance this cookie. The potato chip adds more greasiness and the pretzel made it drier. It depended on what was in your "bite" as to how it tasted. Too much going on as others have stated. Sorry Toll House, your product is great but not this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
These were delicious and a big hit at the pot luck I took them to! I used Kettle plain potato chips, which tend to stay extra crispy. These were crunchy, salty and sweet - the perfect little treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Photo by RealCookingDiva
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I'm really surprise how good these cookies are. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RealCookingDiva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States