Sweet and Salty Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Mine turned out super sticky but to be fair I spread it WAY too thick! It does taste awesome though. But I would next time cut down the sugar and cinnamon. I think it's worth a try for everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Really good and crunchy! I used 1/3 cup each of raw pumpkin seeds, slivered pecans and almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Worked out great, kids killed it in one evening- delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gmoh005

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I used Splenda brown sugar blend in this recipe and pecans instead of walnuts. Once I took it out of the oven, I let it cool and then tossed in a heaping cup of organic raisins. Nice granola recipe--I was worried about using Splenda but really, it turned out just like any other granola recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Nice combination of sweet and slightly salty! This was a simple recipe to throw together and it was much lower in fat than most due to it's lack of oil. I used a combination of walnuts and almonds and upped the vanilla a bit. This was good with raisins and dried cranberries. Delicious all by itself, but a great topper for oatmeal and yogurt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I really didn't like the texture of this. It was chewy/stale because of the water versus the usual oil. The flavor was nothing to brag about either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Excellent basic granola recipe - and I love that it doesn't use oil! I added a cup of chopped pecans to give a little variety, and used about 1 1/2 teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice plus 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon instead of a full two teaspoons of cinnamon. I had trouble getting the oats to clump together, but didn't mind because the taste was so great! Next time I make this, I might make a little more of the liquid mixture to really coat everything more thoroughly and hopefully get it to clump a little better. My boyfriend couldn't stop eating this, and said it got rave reviews when he took it into the office! I highly recommend this simple and relatively-healthy granola recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeliss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This was my first experience making granola and I am very happy with the results! I did make some changes based on some ideas I got from other granola recipes I read on this site. I liked the recipe because the ingredient list is short and sweet... a perfect starter recipe and most (if not all) of the ingredients can be found in many kitchens! So here's my changes: I reduced the brown sugar to 1/2 cup and added 1/4 cup of maple syrup (in place of the 1/4 cup brown sugar I omitted), I used quick oats, I substituted about 1/2 cup pecans for all the walnuts since that's all I had, and viola!!! I did have to bake quite a bit longer. I checked and stirred the granola on a baking sheet every 15 minutes for about 45-60 minutes. It was chewy still when I finally took it out but it was golden brown. I left it on the counter top in the pan to cool for several hours and it got crispier and crispier. Finally I put it in a Tupperware container before I went to bed and by then it was very crispy, perfect granola!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I loved this recipe! I was a little apprehensive when I saw 'salty and sweet' but this makes it work. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This was pretty good. I like that the salty part wasn't too noticable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States