Sweet and Oh So Spicy Kielbasa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2015
Delish & quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
I scaled this way down because I only had a small piece of kielbasa that I wanted to use up and enjoyed this as a light supper with brown rice. For the BBQ sauce, I used 'A Very Popular BBQ Sauce' from this site. I also used one of those individual cups of pineapple tidbits that come in the 4-pk. I opted not to use the cherries at this time. I can see how this would be a hit to serve for a crowd, using a crockpot. Very nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I'm going to try this with chili sauce instead of BBQ sauce and a little brown sugar. I'm trying it first without browning the kielbasa. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Vigil
Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greenville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Delicious, quick and easy dinner. I had fresh pineapple, so I used that in place of the canned. Otherwise, I followed the stovetop instructions and it thickened up nicely. Served this over sticky rice and added a simple green salad. We enjoyed a nice dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
FAB-U-LOUS! I browned the sausage on the stove first, cut the cherries in half and caramelized the pineapple in brown sugar. I added on large clove of garlic, minced and one small onion, sliced. Only put in 1 tsp of red pepper and it was perfect and still very much heat. I put everything in the crock pot on low all day. Serve over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I made a half batch as a trial run before a holiday pot luck figuring I'd add it to the final if I liked it. I kept tasting, and tasting, and before I knew it, it was gone! The second batch, I used half ketchup and half bbq sauce and thought that was less cloying. Also used fresh pineapple chunks instead of canned. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
As is the recipe is a 4-4.5/5 but with your own tweaks it could definitely be a 5/5! As far as meat appetizers are concerned, this is a go to recipe for me - much better than cocktail meatballs. My recommendation is to reduce the amount of sauce, make the day before and let simmer in a crockpot for a few hours before serving. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Took it to work & very few liked or even tried it. My guess was the texture & knowing the odd combo of ingredients. If the cherries & pineapple had been chopped fine, I think it would've been better accepted as the flavor was ok. Those of us that did try it liked the meat but thought the whole cherries were strange. I'm still eating the leftovers two days later and next time I will go back to my old hot weenie recipie that they all love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Portage, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Only problem with this recipe? Not enough! Quite the hit at a recent potluck. I toned down the heat just a little for that, but as is, this is excellent. Second time I made it, I didn't have maraschino's or grape jelly, but I did have cherry jelly and chopped up a handful of fresh cherries. (Cmon. I live in Washington. People look at you suspiciously if you buy maraschino's...) Just as savory sweet. Also very good with meatballs, and there's actually enough sauce to handle the 2 pounds of Kielbasa and a couple dozen meatballs as an appy. With just the kielbasa, this would be a great meal over rice with a fresh salad on the side. Thanks, abrusky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
This recipe was such a big hit with my family. I made it last night and they LOVED IT! Now the only thing I did that was a little different was that I used about a 1/4 cup of brown sugar and caramelized the pineapple, then added the BBQ and other ingredients to the pineapple, simmered sauce and then added it to the Kielbasa that I had started to cook in a larger frying pan.... Was sweet yet the after effects you could feel the Heat, served over white rice and was a homerun with family, Thank You for the Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don Hutcheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornell, New York, USA
Living In: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Spicy Orange Bison Balls

See how to make a lower-fat version of cocktail meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States