Sweet and Nutty Moroccan Couscous Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This was absolutely amazing with the Moraccan Chicken recipe served on top of it!! All 4 of my children cleaned their plates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This was excellent. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable, cut the cinnamon to 1 tsp. (which was plenty), and omitted the nuts since my kids aren't fans. The result was a delicious and different side dish, great with roasted chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
So tasty!! I made this to serve with the Israeli Moroccan couscous recipe (also from this site) instead of serving that one over plain couscous and I'm pretty sure I have a new favourite meal. I followed the recipe exactly and thought it was perfect. I'm seeing a lot of reviews saying you need to increase the broth a lot, and I guess you might want to if you're planning to eat this on its own, but as a side to a saucy stew-type dish, it's perfect. I absolutely loved it on its own as well, actually. I made this first and I definitely did some snacking on it while preparing the other dish. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Very good! I have picky teens and even they gobbled it up! I will definitely make this dish again. I used 3c broth instead of the 2c based on others' suggestion and it came out perfect. I also used chicken broth ... served with chicken tagine ... very complementary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dtmbooks
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This is a great recipe with wonderful texture and flavor. For a Thanksgiving twist, I create the couscous with equal parts chicken stock and couscous with a bit of finely grated garlic. I added a mixture of dried fruits (apricots, golden raisins, dried cherries, etc). I also add toasted pine nuts and scallions or green onions. The dried fruit, green onion and pine nut mixture is fairly equal...to your taste. The sweet fruits, savory nuts and green onion flavors meld well. To help with a bit of dryness, once the couscous is cool enough to handle, I drizzle olive oil in my palms and 'massage' the olive oil throughout the mixture. With the olive oil added, it reheats well. If it's still a bit dry, a squeeze of fresh orange juice does wonders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dtmbooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I like this dish! I had it accompany some fish. I didn't have dates on hand, but I had figs, so I substituted and it was still great. I like the fact that the sweet just comes from the fruits that are added and the most fattening thing is the butter, which I cut down to 3T and it was still good. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoingDomestic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This seemed to be lacking some liquid and a savory counter to the sweet cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HurdBird

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Super dish! I added dehydrated apples at the end and halfed cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scienceguy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah-May
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I really like the idea of this but for my taste buds the amounts are a little off, I use more dried fruit and almonds and add nutmeg, cardamom and a few pinches of cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Especially good with something spicy, like Chicken tikka masala!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenthumb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Couscous Primavera

See how to make a fast and easy side dish with spring veggies.

Israeli Couscous and Cheese

Check out this deliciously different take on mac and cheese.

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States