Sweet and Mild Cooked Tomato Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I submitted this recipe and wanted to note that sometimes I use canned jalapeno peppers instead of green chilies for zestier salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I have been looking forever for a salsa that suits my taste and this is the one! I don't like a lot of heat so I didn't add any hot pepper sauce. I love the fresh, sweet taste of this and I can't wait to make it when the tomatoes in my garden ripen in another month or so!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazydoglady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Okay, this stuff is delicious! A bit too sweet for my tastes, and I halved the sugar, but the recipe title warns you so if you don't like sweet and don't cut down or eliminate the sugar it's on you! It doesn't make me hate it, and it does lend to the salsa itself, so I'll try quartering it next time. I used dehydrated onions since I didn't have any onions in the house at the time. I doubled the recipe and still only ended up with 1 full pint jar and about 3/4 of a pint jar. I decided to can this and although it was a lot of boiling for 1 3/4 jars, I'm glad I did so we can have some of this salsa another time. I did a water bath for 15 minutes and the jars sealed perfectly. In my opinion, the work for this recipe (peeling the tomatoes by boiling in water--the skins come right off!), then chopping all the tomatoes and boiling everything for hours is worth it. Next time I'm just going to make a heck of a lot more of this! :o) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I think this salsa is fantastically delicious, yet different. My children hate tom, peppers, and, onions, but they ate this down till the bowl was empty. If you really enjoy it, don't even waste your time taking skins off, just throw it all in a bledder and hit puree, put some tomatoes aside to hand cut into larger chunks if you like some texture. I have made it both ways, skins and no skins, it tastes great regardless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I think the outcome of this salsa can depend a lot on the type and size of the tomatoes used. Roma are the best for salsas, IMO. Mine were a tad on the small side, so I had to use about 10 of them to keep the salsa from tasting too vinegary. I only simmered mine for 2 hrs. and yummy!! I do puree the final product to hide the chopped onions from my kids, and only use 2 oz. of the diced chiles. Is good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
My family of four likes this with breakfast burrito. Later this afternoon, we will have this for snack with tortilla chips. Fresh, resfreshing, sweet taste salsa. YUM. I don't have oregano so I substitututed with a little basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karinab71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bacoor, Cavite, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This was awesome! I cut the sugar in half, used canned tomatoes (it's winter in the midwest), 1 tablespoon of vinegar and only cooked it for 30 minutes. Pulsed it with a soup blender. I will definitely try it with fresh tomatoes this summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
My search for a homemade salsa is finally over! I have recently started cooking more, and my very first attempt at this salsa was fabulous! I read the comments before hand, and knew I didn't want any sugar in mine, so I omitted it completely. Instead of chiles I used canned jalapenos which made it very warm, but not unbearable. I put in exact amounts of the seasonings, but then added more garlic and herbs until the taste was perfect for me. My husband and coworkers LOVED it! I made it for the 2nd time yesterday, and used 4 small fresh jalapeno peppers, 1 green pepper, and 2 banana peppers, instead of the chiles. It tastes wonderful! Not as hot as the first batch but so tastey. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
omitted the hot sauce all together. 1/2 recipe, but used full can of chillies. delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
We LOVED this. If I could give it more than 5 stars I would! I didn't have a can of peppers, so I chopped up a yellow sweet pepper and put that in with the rest of it. Hands down, best salsa EVER!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChillyBaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States