Sweet and Hot Apple Slow Cooker Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I made this exactly as stated, and it was good but INCREDIBLY spicy. It was very hearty - a good warm, autumn meal, and the pork was delicious and fell right apart - but almost so spicy I couldn't enjoy the other flavors. I ate with a side of cottage cheese to counteract the spice. I'm extremely curious to see what this is like without any peppers. I do enjoy mild spice, so next time I will leave the peppers out completely and use red pepper flakes instead, which will allow me to start with a little and add more to taste. The two chipotle peppers in this recipe just seem a little too overpowering! I'm also considering the addition of some fresh apple slices and brown sugar. I do think it was a fun, autumn-y concept, and I will make again, although I will try toning down the spice from super-hot to mildly-hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Pork was perfect and tender. Husband made it though and he is an x chef so Im not sure if he doctored the recipe. It was devine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Very good! For those who do not like food very spicy just cut open the chipotle peppers and take the seeds out with a knife. This will cut down on the heat a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
made as directed only leaving out the peppers and using crushed red peppers to taste instead. the meat was dry, tough, and tasteless. the potatoes practically disolved. i ended up making grilled cheese for my 2 year old, and then decided i'd rather have that too. my husband ate it and said it was ok, but he didn't go back for seconds and didn't complain when i didn't save the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
This was fabulous - very tasty. The meat was extremely tender. I did everything as-is, but I left out the peppers - 'cause of my little kids. My 16 yo daughter ate a second helping later for dessert :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This turned out great! I did only put in 1 chipotle pepper and that was plenty of heat. Left it sit all day in the crock and the meat just fell apart. I didn't end up thickening the juices but it was still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
My family loved this recipes. I have 7 growing boys so I had to add extra sweet potates and added 5 extra apples and cooked it on slow for 8 hours. The gravy was the best part and it turned out perfect! Will defintely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
DO NOT LEAVE THE CHIPOTLE PEPPERS OUT! The flavor of the smokey Adobo Sauce is what makes this recipe great. It will not be achieved by red pepper flakes! In fact, if I were you, I would pour a little Adobo Sauce straight in the gravy. Here are my thoughts: Do it for 6 to 8 hours on low heat. Doing it the quick way makes it slightly too tough. Add the apple pie filling just before it's done. Like maybe an hour or less - other wise they dissolve (though the sweet flavor is amazing). When I make this again, I'm going to put fresh apple chunks in as well (from the beginning). My husband says this is the best thing I've ever made. If you have some super-sensitivity to heat, stay away. But if you enjoy flavor, dig in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This was really tasty. I made it as stated except I added 10-15 baby carrots, and one peeled, chopped apple. I cooked it on low for 8 hours and the meat was juicy, tender and flavorful. I really enjoyed the spicy smokiness and will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I cooked this tonight and it was a big hit with the family. Instead of the canned apple pie filling, I used three large fresh fuji apples, sliced and coated with a bit of cinnamon and raw sugar. I removed the seeds from the peppers to tone it down a bit so it wouldn't be too hot for my 2 year old, but I think I will leave them next time because it wasn't spicy at all. Even without the bit of spice I was hoping for, it still turned out delicious and I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Braised Pork

See how to make a tender pork roast in the slow cooker.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States