Sweet and Dark Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
Easy to follow and turned out great. I used all purpose flour since I didn't have wheat on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I just made these for dinner and we all loved them. I didn't use any oil though or stir them either. I lined the baking sheet with foil. I'll try some of the other ideas about adding other seasonings too. This can be varied in many ways to nicely complement the main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa E.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pontiac, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
I halved the recipe, but it seemed like there was way too much of the sugar/salt/flour mixture for the amount of potatoes. Also, I used german butter potatoes, and they cook faster. This isn't the fault of the recipe's, but I'm glad I checked on them because they were burning halfway through the broiling. They probably would have been good just after the 40 minutes at 350. Before they started to burn, they smelled really really good, and actually they weren't too bad as they turned out. I'm sure I will make them again, and hopefully this time I'll be better able to taste the sugar. However, I will reduce the amount of mixture I shake the potatoes around in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
Wow, I wasn't sure what to expect, but these were incredible! (I even just used white flour - I bet with the whole wheat the texture and taste would be perfect.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karetha Palmer-Dellgrottaglia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montrose, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
My family liked this recipe, it was a great change of taste from regular oven fried potatoes. I added garlic and onion powders to the dry mix and had to use more oil for baking them then the regular amount. I also used less mix, but overall this was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
The previous reviews are right about reducing the sugar mixture, but overall it had a wonderful flavor. We added a little parmesan cheese afterwards and we both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CriticalMass

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
I found these alittle bland and was disapointed. We did have a BBQ sauce that was being served that evening with supper and spooning that over the top of the potatos helps to jazz them up alittle. Also-I cut the recipe in half, and had way too much flour mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
Was just OK. Pretty Bland. Easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
good but not spectacular
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason Coull

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
The recipe was ok. Of the 5 poeple in my family two of the boys loved it, one did not care of it and the adults both thought it was so so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

T's Sweet Potato Fries

Put a delicious and healthy spin on French fries.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States