Sweet and Buttery Turnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
The previous recipe by "themeese" clearly states that she believes that "it was not the recipes fault" and that it was in fact a bad crop. Leaving 1 star reflected a very bad recipe on the publishers part and was unfair. Please try for yourself, enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverhead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I used half the sugar and butter, and milk instead of cream, and it still came out plenty sweet-n-buttery. I really like the unusual flavor combo, but will do it with still less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
So I In the spirit of adventure and because they were dirt cheap, I bought some turnips and now I know why there's, like, 5 recipes for turnips. Half the receipes on this site call for a half pound of bacon and copious amounts of butter. No kidding. Even with the added spices and mashing -- no matter how I wished them to be like mashed potatoes these suckers had a life of their own. They retained their diced shape -- no matter how much mashing I subjected them to. The hubster, a man who claims to love vegetables and would like to go vegetarian but in reality will only eat maybe 3 vegetables (green beans, cauliflower (raw only) and I'm hard pressed for third vegetable), was very adventurous in his forkfuls...and I had to call it early -- Dear God Man! Back away from the turnips! I still gave the receipe 4 stars as it's not the recipe, we just don't dig turnips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockland, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
Well, I learned a lesson today. If the turnips you grew in your garden came out kinda small, tough, and strong, not even a generous dose of fat and sugar will magically make them edible! I will have to revist this idea with store-bought turnips and see if I can give it more stars. The concoction I wound up with hit the trash can PDQ. I don't think it is the recipe's fault. You shouldn't go wrong with sour cream and brown sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
Didn't really care for the combination of flavors in this dish. I would leave out the brown sugar and nutmeg next time. Not sure about the sour cream, but might try adding a little to my usual way of coursely mashing turnips and carrots, with butter and seasonings. The carrots add a sweeter flavor and no need for sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I liked it, however, following the recipe to the letter was too much liquid in the bowl. I will definately make this again and cut back the liquid a bit. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This recipe was a hit at all 3 Christmas dinners that I had to prepare! I did cut back on the liquid, adding the cream slowly until I achieved the desired consistency. I even had Turnip haters asking for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
Pretty good. My husband who is not a fan of turnips actually liked this one. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catlover

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
This was very good prior to adding the brown sugar. I went with only a couple tablespoons of brown sugar to start and wish I had just left it out. I didn't even add as much butter, sour cream or half & half, but it was still excellent. Just didn't like it sweetened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Yummy! I didn't know what to do with all those turnips from my CSA, but now I know. I halved all the ingredients except for Turnips (stuck with 2 lbs on that) after reading reviews re: too watery. It was perfect. Thanks BUNKYDARL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States