Sweet & Sour Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
This was really a great recipe for Brussels sprouts. It's a great change from butter. I did not have cashews, so I made it without the nuts. I used frozen sprouts and steamed them for nine minutes. I then cut them in half before adding to the sauce. I love the balsamic in these. I was afraid they'd be too sweet, but not at all. Thanks for the great recipe. Jill
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillyJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Brussel Sprouts are in season...perfect time to try this! My hubby and I just recently have started eating them (and we are over 50!) and we tried another carmelized recipe from here and we are now hooked! So so good! These are a great variation of the other one. I changed it up regarding how I cook them and you might want to try this method as well! Steam the Brussels until tender but still crisp and set aside. Saute a sweet onion in the oil using the same skillet I steamed in on med-high to brown & carmelize the onions. Then add the sprouts and continue to saute adding the vinegar. When almost done & 'roasted looking' add the maple syrup, Dijon mustard & cashews if using them plus salt & pepper to taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
My husband and I loved this recipe, even though we both do not care for brussel sprouts. This recipe gets rid of most of the funky taste of the brussels sprouts. My kids ate them too (2 and 4 years old), but had to coaxed to eat them. This is an excellent recipe for those trying to find new ways to eat their veggies. I did have to make a couple of alterations out of necessity. I substituted toasted almonds for the cashews and had to substitute honey for half of the maple syrup. While still good, I can't wait to try again with all the original ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
If you don't care for brussels sprouts then take a pass on this. If you happen to really enjoy them then give this zingy recipe a try! I went a little heavy on the vinegar - we are vinegar freaks! Per usual, I omitted nuts. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
This was not what I exptected. I love balamic but not on brussel sprouts. I used frozen sprouts and almonds. I couldnt make myself eat it. I felt it had a funky taste to it...if you like funky....make these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
As a brussel sprout lover, I had a hard time eating these. The maple syrup flavor overpowered the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Athens, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Great brussels sprouts recipe. I took one reviewer's suggestion and cooked the sprouts in the pan first with some olive oil and then added rest of the ingredients and some water so the sprouts wouldn't burn. I added chopped almonds instead of cashews. It tasted great! Served with baked sweet potato on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEAMOSRU

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
It's pretty good. A bit too sweet for my taste, but would likely appeal to those who don't like sprouts. But why you feedin' sprouts to them if they don't like `em?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Awful. I followed this recipe exactly as written and I just didn't like the flavors. The combination of balsamic and maple syrup didn't combine well on the sprouts. I will not be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This was horrible the maple was too over powering and they were bitter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States