Swedish Toscas (Swedish Almond Tarts) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Very easy to make, coming from a person who cannot make any type of crust without ruining it. Kids love it. Made these as a treat for my daughters friend from college who is from Sweden. She requests these each time they come to visit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia Heights, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Oakdale, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
These were easy and adorable! The dough was a little crumbly to put in the muffin tins, but stayed together once baked, no problem. I didn't have trouble getting them out of the muffin tins. Just coaxed out with the tip of a knife. I thought maybe they could have used a bit more filling so next time I might make 1.5 times the filling and see how that works. I will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Please try this, it's awsome. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I was looking for a great crust recipe for mini tart crusts and this is it! A few additional suggestions for this recipe: Getting tarts out of a tart pan can be frustrating. I even made this great crust in mini tart pans which are expecially a problem. Be sure to spray your pans with a non stick cooking spray. Otherwise, you will not be able to remove the tarts without breaking. Also, I always put my crusts in the freezer for about five minutes, right before baking. This allows the butter to get cold and then the hot burst from the oven makes the crust puff much better so the crust is not crackly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
This dessert was delicious! I started by making the tart shell, but the consistency was too crumbly, so I added an extra 2 tablespoons of butter and another 1/8 cup of sugar, and it came together quite well. I used my hands to combine the dough, and the warmth of my hands made it very easy to work with. I also stuck the cupcake pan with the dough in the freezer for 5 minutes (as another person suggested), then added the almond mixture on top. I followed the recipe exactly for the rest of it, and the finished product was amazing! Can't wait to impress my guests tomorrow night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
So good. I make these all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
OMG absolutely DIVINE!!!!!!!!!!!!! Would only recommend doubling the pastry mixture and making half as much again of the filling. Also silicon cases are definately the way to go with these if you want to be able to remove them easily without breaking. Gorgeous - an absolute must
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Really delicious and easy to make. Like another reviewer, I ran out of the fillings and had to make more. Still, I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Love it. Definitely doesn't make enough. I usually 1/2 again the filling. Have used slivered and sliced almonds - both equally good. Even better to add a bit of almond extract. Also, add maybe a teaspoon or so of water to the dough until it forms a ball. Easier to work with and doesn't seem to change the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
These are so good! I had to double the amount of the filling, though, for some reason. I baked them in a silicone muffin pan that I didn't even have to grease prior to baking. Afterwards, I let them cool off completely and they just popped out without any mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Sophisticated Almond Appetizers

Easy and elegant, these almond appetizers are anything but complicated.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States