Swedish Toscas (Swedish Almond Tarts) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I was looking for a great crust recipe for mini tart crusts and this is it! A few additional suggestions for this recipe: Getting tarts out of a tart pan can be frustrating. I even made this great crust in mini tart pans which are expecially a problem. Be sure to spray your pans with a non stick cooking spray. Otherwise, you will not be able to remove the tarts without breaking. Also, I always put my crusts in the freezer for about five minutes, right before baking. This allows the butter to get cold and then the hot burst from the oven makes the crust puff much better so the crust is not crackly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
This dessert was delicious! I started by making the tart shell, but the consistency was too crumbly, so I added an extra 2 tablespoons of butter and another 1/8 cup of sugar, and it came together quite well. I used my hands to combine the dough, and the warmth of my hands made it very easy to work with. I also stuck the cupcake pan with the dough in the freezer for 5 minutes (as another person suggested), then added the almond mixture on top. I followed the recipe exactly for the rest of it, and the finished product was amazing! Can't wait to impress my guests tomorrow night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
These are very tasty and not difficult to make. I followed the recipe to the letter with one exception: my almonds were sliced rather than slivered. To avoid problems removing the tarts from the pan, run a butter knife around each one after removing from the oven. After the recommended cooling time they pop right out. Thanks for a tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I didn't make the filling for this dessert, but the crust was so unbelievably delicious, the best tart crust I have ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
pretty good, but not the AMAZING dessert I was hoping for. Maybe more almond flavour would have been nice, like some almond extract. The crust was a nice shortbread crust, which everyone likes. I would give it a 4 1/2 stars just because its really good, but not perfect. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
They were okay, but won't make them again. The family didn't let them go to waste. I did double the filling because for some reason I ran out half way threw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
OMG absolutely DIVINE!!!!!!!!!!!!! Would only recommend doubling the pastry mixture and making half as much again of the filling. Also silicon cases are definately the way to go with these if you want to be able to remove them easily without breaking. Gorgeous - an absolute must
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
These were easy and adorable! The dough was a little crumbly to put in the muffin tins, but stayed together once baked, no problem. I didn't have trouble getting them out of the muffin tins. Just coaxed out with the tip of a knife. I thought maybe they could have used a bit more filling so next time I might make 1.5 times the filling and see how that works. I will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
So good. I make these all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Please try this, it's awsome. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Sophisticated Almond Appetizers

Easy and elegant, these almond appetizers are anything but complicated.

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States