Swedish Tea Ring Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
I had such high hopes for this bread but was very disappointed. I should have known there would be a problem when I saw the amount of yeast...3/4 teaspoon is a third of a package of yeast and that was suppose to make two bread rings rise??? It came out of my bread machince just fine, but after 1 1/2 hours of letting the rings rise, they hadn't grown at all. I baked them anyway and there was brown sugar all over the cookie sheets and the bottom of my oven. They didn't rise at all during the baking time either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
Delicious, easy, great recipe! My daughter brought it to her first grade class for a special day and it disappeared quickly. Also made it for our Christmas morning brunch, as well as for several friends for Christmas gifts. We will definitely make this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
This has become a holiday tradition for my family. It always turns out beautifully and works well if made the night before and refridgerated as well. I recommend trying this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
This recipe reminds me so much of the one my Mom used to make at Christmas time. Thanks Julia!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
Excellent! This was fairly easy to make and won a blue ribbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I made this Christmas morning with craisins and slivered almonds. I loved it so much that I made it again for Easter with dried apricots in the filling. Instead of 2 rings, I just made one big one. It is really pretty on a big platter, and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Very tasty. I added just a little more yeast. Turned out beautiful. Dough was very easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Make ahead-Dough can be covered in a bowl and refrigerated up to 4 days before shaping/rising. This is a childhood recipe and it's wonderful. Simple, pretty and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Although my friends liked this dessert, I felt that the dough was a little flat. I would have liked a thicker, fluffier dough. I will try doubling the yeast. Also, I'd like to mention that although I love that the recipe makes two rings, they are a bit small. That being said, the instructions were well written and it looked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I only wanted one coffee cake so I cut the recipe in half. Because I don’t use a bread machine, I proofed the yeast in the milk @ 110º with a teaspoon of sugar and then finished off the rest of the dough in my KA, kneading it on my pastry board at the very end, and then set it aside for its first rise. As another review noted, the filling does escape slightly from the dough during baking, but there is plenty of cinnamon-roll flavor. This recipe makes a wonderful coffee cake that is as scrumptious as it is attractive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tea Biscuits

Watch how to make this quick tea time treat.

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States