Swedish Sticky Chocolate Cake (Kladdkaka) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Wonderful and decadent!! This cake is a cross between a chocolate pudding cake and chewy, moist brownies. Heavenly!! Although I am part Swedish, I was not familiar with this recipe. I am glad that I came across it when I was researching Swedish recipes. Very quick and easy.I beat the eggs and sugar for 5 minutes, as suggested by another reviewer. I used a buttered 7" glass pie plate and baked it for 30-35 minutes. Be sure to bake on the bottom rack of oven to avoid it from becoming too overdone on top. Wonderful topped with cool whip and drizzled with melted chocolate chips. Best served warm. It has become a part of my favorite recipe collection. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Great Recipe. I'm Swedish too, and I can vouch for this recipe being the real, traditional deal. Don't hold back on the pinch of salt, as it complements the sweetness beautifully. You can also lightly coat the greased form with a mix of bread crumbs and a tiny pinch of salt before you pour the mix, for added texture and flavor. 350 degrees at 30 minutes also works well, for those that want to bake it at a higher internal temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This recipe is so good!! I made it for a school project and everybody loved it! You just have to make sure that you cooked it long enough. It is also so easy to make. My sister is making it as a snack and she's 8! Best recipe! House favorite!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
WOW! How can you eat more than one piece of this at a time? I made this for my mother-in-law's birthday and we all enjoyed a piece, but it is definfinately sweet. She did ask for the recipe however so she must have liked it. I think I will occasionally make this agian, but probably wont become a regular. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
This is delish. Chewy and gooey. I think I may have baked it a little to long, but that is something to improve on next time, and there will be a next time. I also followed the reviewers advice to beat the sugar and eggs for 5 min. Many thanks to the submitter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosichops

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Very good cake... very gooey and chocolatey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
My Swedish boyfriend and his family loved it! Best served warm with ice cream!A great ans easy recipe to make- but it doesn't serve 8!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dundee, Angus, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Absolutely terrific. I am Swedish and have been looking for a way to make Kladdkaka on my own. This is it. I only had a 9" glass pie plate (rather than 8" as the recipe calls for) and it worked perfectly. You get a crisp/gooey crust and a sticky, moist inside. Note that the top will sort of collapse and crack as the cake cools. This is normal and authentic! Also, you must let it cool completely or it will just seem runny. Most importantly, for those of you who felt the cake was too liquid: it is all about how you mix the batter. Beat the egg/sugar mixture for a good 5 mns with an electric beater. But stir just a little with a spoon when you mix in the flour mixture and the butter. A total of 30 strokes should do it and it should be by hand. This way, you'll get just the right consistency. Awesome with a bit of freshly whipped cream and a cup of coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
I live in Stockholm right now and can say that this is the best kladdkaka I have had. There is one cafe here that serves a similar one and I have been testing different recipes trying to replicate it. This one comes closest. I have served it as dessert at dinner parties - warm with a bit of powdered sugar, unsweetened whipped cream, and fresh rasberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
OK, I just made this (during a major storm) and at first I thought I had completely screwed it up because it was "jiggly" when I took it out (I baked it an additional 10 minutes because I thought I had messed it up!). But now I see that it is meant to be that way....well, I think it is! It doesn't matter because I'll still eat it!! Chocolate is chocolate and this has a wonderfully "different" taste to it. It is wonderful, whether made perfectly or screwed up!!!! :) YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOldis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Living In: Anniston, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States