Swedish Spareribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
delicious!I didnt have beef broth but used chicken broth instead and it was still good.Also added garlic and onion powder and seasoning salt to the spices..Will be using this recipe again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
These ribs were really really good. I doubled the recipe. I browned the ribs in a wok using butter. The ribs really soak up the rub. Don't be afraid to be generous rubbing these down. I browned them in a wok and then simmered them for 3 hours on the lowest heat I could manage on the stove top. Don't be afraid of the allspice. It was a great flavor! I will DEFINETLY make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
It was moist but way too much Allspice and sugar for my liking. My daughter said it tasted like licking Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I love this recipe. I use it for pork chops as well. I did have to decrease the amount of pepper used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
These are the best ribs I have ever tasted! They got raves at the table from my daughters boyfriends and my husband. They wanted to know what was in the rub. Even though there was sugar in the rub they were less sweet than the typical BBQ ribs. I used unsalted butter to help keep them from burning and I used a large non-stick wok to do the browing. Then I added the beef broth to the wok and then transferred the entire thing to a crock pot and cooked on low for about 4 hours and then one hour on high. ( I needed the stove top to make other things we were having so I didn't want to have the giant wok on there taking up space.THe crock pot worked fine, they were very tender but didn't fall apart.) I couldn't find the "country style" ribs so I just used 2 lbs of meaty baby back pork ribs, cutting them apart before I coated them with the rub.They tasted great, but the country style that the recipe actually calls for would have been better because I couldn't really brown the underside of the ribs due to the curvature of the bones, and also the country ribs would have had more meat. The amount of rub to coat the 2 lbs was just perfect. I used Kitchen Basics beef broth. I will be making them again soon and often. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Made this for dinner tonight and it was very tasty and tender. Wonderful aroma, my husband thought I had been baking when he walked in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Wow! This recipe is truly tasty and the ribs are incredibly moist! After the ribs were done I tin foil- tented them for a few minutes while I made a gravy out of the beef broth, then served it over long grain white rice. Beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAJEUNIR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I cut back on the allspice a bit, using half since it's a bit overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
made exactly as written. meat was very flavorful but we found it too salty. otherwise, very nice alternative to typical bbq.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This recipe was a hit at our New Year's party. I skipped the butter and placed the meat into the crockpot. The ingredients went on top, turned the crockpot on low for 5 hours. They fell apart and were delicious. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tyrone, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Bloomfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States