Swedish Rye Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
These are fabulous and easy to make. Despite the low amount of sugar, they still taste like a cookie and not a cracker. I just cut mine into squares with my pastry cutter instead of cutting circles, and I got 3 dozen 2in. cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Swaswa
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
These were quite easy to make. I was a little confused at the rather odd measurement of 1/8 teaspoon baking powder. I simply used a pinch of it, the amount that fits between my finger and thumb. I beat the butter and sugar with a whisk by hand, as my appliance is broken, but then when the flour came into play, I switched to a spoon and then my hands, which worked well. I rolled the dough on my flour sprinkled counter and cut the cookies with a beer glass and they came out nice and thin. I must say, I loved the taste of the dough a lot, so I ate some of it. ;) One problem really is the lack of a time frame, but I went with the regular 12 minutes most thin cookies need and that was fine. This is why I only rate 4 stars – the 1/8 teaspoon (which is technically almost un-measurable in this way), and the missing baking time. I just burned the lower sheet a little, because it wasn’t evident when looking at them from the top, that they were already done. Next time I will put them onto a higher rack in the oven and I’m sure they will be fine. They are awesome with milk, and I am sure they are great with coffee, tea, chocolate milk and the like as well. My man immediately loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swaswa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Squamish, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Made these this Christmas, but my family did not like them. I also tried a recipe for Swedish Rye Cookies on another site that contained cream cheese that I thought tasted better. Should I have used light rye flour? I used dark because that's what I had on hand. For my other Christmas cookies I used whole wheat pastry flour and they turned out great (whole wheat chocolate chip cookies, w.w. snickerdoodles). If I make these again, I will try LIGHT rye flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARFLOWER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Best cookie! Easy and delicious, I  baked for 20 minutes and turned it over twice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
These cookies are strangely addicting! I was a bit confused though: there is no baking time included in the directions so I'm not sure I baked mine for long enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
This recipe smells exactly like my grandmothers Swedish Rye Bread baking. A new family favorite! Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
This cookie was light and tasty. It reminded us of shortbread but with more flavor. We also tried putting frosting on them--they were tasty but best left undecorated. We'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
This surprisingly addictive cookie is light and crisp! It's fabulous dunked in coffe or hot chocolate. After sampling Pam's recipe, I had to make them myself! -Jessica Poskozim
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States