Swedish Rye Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
These are fabulous and easy to make. Despite the low amount of sugar, they still taste like a cookie and not a cracker. I just cut mine into squares with my pastry cutter instead of cutting circles, and I got 3 dozen 2in. cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Swaswa
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
These were quite easy to make. I was a little confused at the rather odd measurement of 1/8 teaspoon baking powder. I simply used a pinch of it, the amount that fits between my finger and thumb. I beat the butter and sugar with a whisk by hand, as my appliance is broken, but then when the flour came into play, I switched to a spoon and then my hands, which worked well. I rolled the dough on my flour sprinkled counter and cut the cookies with a beer glass and they came out nice and thin. I must say, I loved the taste of the dough a lot, so I ate some of it. ;) One problem really is the lack of a time frame, but I went with the regular 12 minutes most thin cookies need and that was fine. This is why I only rate 4 stars – the 1/8 teaspoon (which is technically almost un-measurable in this way), and the missing baking time. I just burned the lower sheet a little, because it wasn’t evident when looking at them from the top, that they were already done. Next time I will put them onto a higher rack in the oven and I’m sure they will be fine. They are awesome with milk, and I am sure they are great with coffee, tea, chocolate milk and the like as well. My man immediately loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swaswa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Squamish, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Made these this Christmas, but my family did not like them. I also tried a recipe for Swedish Rye Cookies on another site that contained cream cheese that I thought tasted better. Should I have used light rye flour? I used dark because that's what I had on hand. For my other Christmas cookies I used whole wheat pastry flour and they turned out great (whole wheat chocolate chip cookies, w.w. snickerdoodles). If I make these again, I will try LIGHT rye flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARFLOWER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Best cookie! Easy and delicious, I  baked for 20 minutes and turned it over twice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
These cookies are strangely addicting! I was a bit confused though: there is no baking time included in the directions so I'm not sure I baked mine for long enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
This recipe smells exactly like my grandmothers Swedish Rye Bread baking. A new family favorite! Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
This cookie was light and tasty. It reminded us of shortbread but with more flavor. We also tried putting frosting on them--they were tasty but best left undecorated. We'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
This surprisingly addictive cookie is light and crisp! It's fabulous dunked in coffe or hot chocolate. After sampling Pam's recipe, I had to make them myself! -Jessica Poskozim
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States