Swedish Rye Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This was a great recipe. It definitely made 3 large loafs of bread. Perfect for sandwich making. I put in an additional tblsp of orange zest. My whole family loved it. The only down side was that rye flavor was too mild for my family's liking. I will definitely will make again, but I will add 2 more cups of rye flour and 2 cups less of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Loved it. Will make it again. I crushed the caraway (not ground). I put the seeds in a plastic bag and crushed it with side of a meat cleaver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I made this bread today. Surprised it didn't really taste like rye. Was really disappointed for that but the bread did taste good none the less. I will still be looking for a good rye bread. This really makes a lot so I made 6 small loaves and 1 large loaf and hoping it freezes ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
This bread is just what I was looking for. Very flavorful and a wonderful lighter texture. I'll be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This is a nice rye bread. Very similar to what my Swedish Grandma used to make. Nice and moist and very flavorful. The one change I made was to use ground caraway instead of the whole seeds. It brought out the caraway flavor better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Pretty good. A dense, hearty rye that is a bit sweet--not surprisingly, with the amount of sugar and honey. I think I'd prefer just honey, though. I made a 1/3 of the recipe and was able to make 2 small loaves. My pans are 8x5 as opposed to a 9x5 loaf pan, so I can typically make smaller loaves with them. However, I could've let it rise longer for a larger loaf. I don't really taste the orange, so I'd add more orange zest or use some oj next time. All in all, this is a nice rye. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I used molasses in place of the sugar, and added extra caraway as others have suggested. This is a great bread. Making 1/3 the recipe yielded a huge free formed loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
This is a delicious and versitile recipe. It rises amazingly, and makes a moist, fluffy bread for the amount of rye flour it contains. I've also tried varying the amount of sugar and using different flours in addition to the rye; it always turns out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
It works well w/whole wheat and brown suger (we don't use white flour); in fact we love it so much I make it weekly for our sandwich bread! Interestingly, I tried to halve the recipe and still get two 9x5's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
This rye is moist and stays moist and soft past the first day. I added extra caraway because I love it, plus about a teaspoon of fennel as well. The extra caraway and fennel added flavor without overpowering the taste of rye.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States