Swedish Rye Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
Absolutely the best Rye bread I have tried. A keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Forks, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Family loved it!! Sweet and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chariton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Roberts, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
I have not yet made this particular recipe, but I am sure it is exactly what I am looking for. Therefore, I rated it in advance. If I think differently after I make it, I will re-rate. I grew up on this bread and everyone in this part of the country (upper Michigan) is always looking for a good, sweet, rye bread. Not easy to find! Yes, it is awesome toasted and for the sandwich part??? I have found that it makes great ham sandwiches. I always try to find sweet rye bread around Christmas because it is so good with ham. I use a small amount of mustard and for some reason American sliced, processed cheese works very well and I usually don't like that cheese much. It just goes good with this bread and ham. For those who can't get cake yeast, use 1 1/2 packets of dry active yeast, or about 3 1/3 tsp. of dry active yeast. Just proof the yeast in the warm water before adding to dry ingredients. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: L'anse, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Excellent result, this is a good recipe for a first try at rye. I made my usual substitutions- water for milk, white sugar as the sweetener, lard as the shortening, add caraway seeds to the dough. I use 3 rises and bake at 375 till the internal loaf is 190.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
This sounds very much like the Swedish rye bread I loved as a child and have been trying to find. For the information of those reviewers who downrated the recipe because it was light and sweet: one doesn't EXPECT Swedish rye bread to be dense and heavy like pumpernickel or Jewish rye - it's a softer, sweeter rye, and in its own way just as delicious (some think more delicious than) as the heavier, more typical, ryes. I think the reviewers who found it too sweet and light just aren't familiar with Swedish rye bread. Each type has its place. I will be trying this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
i made a large round out of this....at first i was worried that it wasn't going to turn out because it took a long time to rise, but all good things are made for us to wait! i used whole wheat flour and made it 12 servings and threw it into my bread machine....fantastic results! loved the very slight sweetness to the crust. will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvie TorokNagy Murray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 8, 2005
A very nice bread.I loved the taste of the molasses to this also.I'll be making this many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
I just browsed through the several recipes on this board for Swedish rye bread, and this particular recipe is the closest to the recipe that my Swedish mother used (from what I can recall. My wife has been making the bread for us for the past several years after being taught how by my mother. It is part of our Christmas tradition. I did note that one reviewer said the bread was "too sweet" for sandwiches--yes, but that is not the end purpose for Swedish rye. On Christmas morning, we have at my house the breakfast that I have had every Christmas of my 65 years--pork sausage with cream gravy over Swedish rye!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
I have been making this bread for two years. everyone who eats it tells me it's to die for.Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2001
I scaled this for 12 servings - threw it all in my breadmaker - and was the hit of the smorgasbord! It is a delightful bread, the flavor reminiscent of my childhood. My family loves it! And this rye bread makes the best toast known to mankind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Newport, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Peppy's Pita Bread

See how to make homemade pita bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States