Swedish Rye Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
This sounds very much like the Swedish rye bread I loved as a child and have been trying to find. For the information of those reviewers who downrated the recipe because it was light and sweet: one doesn't EXPECT Swedish rye bread to be dense and heavy like pumpernickel or Jewish rye - it's a softer, sweeter rye, and in its own way just as delicious (some think more delicious than) as the heavier, more typical, ryes. I think the reviewers who found it too sweet and light just aren't familiar with Swedish rye bread. Each type has its place. I will be trying this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
I just browsed through the several recipes on this board for Swedish rye bread, and this particular recipe is the closest to the recipe that my Swedish mother used (from what I can recall. My wife has been making the bread for us for the past several years after being taught how by my mother. It is part of our Christmas tradition. I did note that one reviewer said the bread was "too sweet" for sandwiches--yes, but that is not the end purpose for Swedish rye. On Christmas morning, we have at my house the breakfast that I have had every Christmas of my 65 years--pork sausage with cream gravy over Swedish rye!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2000
Oh my! I love this bread. It is sweet enough and light enough that my kids enjoy it. Dense enough and dark enough that my *white bread hater" friends love it but not too dense either. Not at all dry. Not difficult at all but the rye bread flour was tough to find in my area. Otherwise, 5 thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2001
I scaled this for 12 servings - threw it all in my breadmaker - and was the hit of the smorgasbord! It is a delightful bread, the flavor reminiscent of my childhood. My family loves it! And this rye bread makes the best toast known to mankind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Newport, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2001
I was extremely disappointed in this recipe. My family and I prefer breads with a fair amount of texture and a good crust on them; this bread is quite soft and very sweet. Not withstanding the three cups of rye flour, it had barely any rye flavor! I suppose kids who like Wonder Bread might like this bread -- but if you're used to artisinal type breads, stay away from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I rarely make a recipe exactly as printed. Characteristically, I made some changes to this recipe, but it was a fantastic base. I used active dry yeast instead (2 1/4 tsp for each fresh yeast cake). I also used white whole grain flour and substituted 1/2 cup whole grain oat flour for some of the wheat flour. I also added a tablespoon of wheat gluten because whole grains tend to produce less elasticity. I'll probably increase the amount of rye flour next time and substitute agave nectar for the brown sugar (to lower the glycemic impact). This was an excellent and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
I have not yet made this particular recipe, but I am sure it is exactly what I am looking for. Therefore, I rated it in advance. If I think differently after I make it, I will re-rate. I grew up on this bread and everyone in this part of the country (upper Michigan) is always looking for a good, sweet, rye bread. Not easy to find! Yes, it is awesome toasted and for the sandwich part??? I have found that it makes great ham sandwiches. I always try to find sweet rye bread around Christmas because it is so good with ham. I use a small amount of mustard and for some reason American sliced, processed cheese works very well and I usually don't like that cheese much. It just goes good with this bread and ham. For those who can't get cake yeast, use 1 1/2 packets of dry active yeast, or about 3 1/3 tsp. of dry active yeast. Just proof the yeast in the warm water before adding to dry ingredients. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: L'anse, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
this is awesome bread; i've been making this very recipe for about a decade now (about to make some more for thxgiving) and it's a hit with everyone (well, except for an ex german boyfriend to whom rye was supposed to be dark and bitter). i do add a bit of caraway, fennel and orange zest, but just because i love that combo in rye. to all those who diss this bread as being too sweet & un-rye, well each country has their own version, and sweden's happens to be on the light and sweeter side. having lived there for a couple of yrs, i can attest to the fact that this recipe is quite bang-on for that region of the world. and once it loses its superfreshness it makes amAzing buttery toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
We prefer a heartier rye bread. There was too much taste of molasses, and the texture was somewhat soft and mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
Absolutely the best Rye bread I have tried. A keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Forks, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States