Swedish Rye Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
was good, but a bit too sweet for sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
Delicious! Just like my Swedish grandmother's bread - eating this brings back a lot of memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACLEOD26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
I have been making this bread for two years. everyone who eats it tells me it's to die for.Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2005
A very nice bread.I loved the taste of the molasses to this also.I'll be making this many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
This sounds very much like the Swedish rye bread I loved as a child and have been trying to find. For the information of those reviewers who downrated the recipe because it was light and sweet: one doesn't EXPECT Swedish rye bread to be dense and heavy like pumpernickel or Jewish rye - it's a softer, sweeter rye, and in its own way just as delicious (some think more delicious than) as the heavier, more typical, ryes. I think the reviewers who found it too sweet and light just aren't familiar with Swedish rye bread. Each type has its place. I will be trying this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
We prefer a heartier rye bread. There was too much taste of molasses, and the texture was somewhat soft and mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2001
I was extremely disappointed in this recipe. My family and I prefer breads with a fair amount of texture and a good crust on them; this bread is quite soft and very sweet. Not withstanding the three cups of rye flour, it had barely any rye flavor! I suppose kids who like Wonder Bread might like this bread -- but if you're used to artisinal type breads, stay away from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
Absolutely the best Rye bread I have tried. A keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Forks, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2001
Heavy, dense, and dry. Too strong of a molasses flavor, and and too sweet. Couldn't taste the rye much, either. I didn't enjoy it, and family thought it was just "OK." The search continues...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2001
I scaled this for 12 servings - threw it all in my breadmaker - and was the hit of the smorgasbord! It is a delightful bread, the flavor reminiscent of my childhood. My family loves it! And this rye bread makes the best toast known to mankind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Newport, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States