Swedish Rye Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2013
I have been searching for a real Swedish rye bread like Kavring, not like the chunky and heavy Rågbrod, but the slightly sweet bread that sings sweetly when topped with a little sill (herring) or Herrgårds öst. his recipe looks to be exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This is wonderful bread. The recipe isn't written as well as it could be. I had to use dry active yeast instead of fresh yeast (3 1/2 tsp) - added the rye flour first then about 5 1/2 cups of bread flour instead of the 6 cups called for. I used organic vegetable shortening (no transfat) but you could use lard or butter instead. This makes 3 large loaves and is too big and heavy for the kitchen aid to do the kneading. I made the dough and left it to rise over night. Shaped and formed the loaves and allowed it to rise for hours and hours the next day. It really is what Swedish Rye bread should taste like. Thanks - I am glad I made this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
this is awesome bread; i've been making this very recipe for about a decade now (about to make some more for thxgiving) and it's a hit with everyone (well, except for an ex german boyfriend to whom rye was supposed to be dark and bitter). i do add a bit of caraway, fennel and orange zest, but just because i love that combo in rye. to all those who diss this bread as being too sweet & un-rye, well each country has their own version, and sweden's happens to be on the light and sweeter side. having lived there for a couple of yrs, i can attest to the fact that this recipe is quite bang-on for that region of the world. and once it loses its superfreshness it makes amAzing buttery toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
i made a large round out of this....at first i was worried that it wasn't going to turn out because it took a long time to rise, but all good things are made for us to wait! i used whole wheat flour and made it 12 servings and threw it into my bread machine....fantastic results! loved the very slight sweetness to the crust. will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvie TorokNagy Murray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Excellent result, this is a good recipe for a first try at rye. I made my usual substitutions- water for milk, white sugar as the sweetener, lard as the shortening, add caraway seeds to the dough. I use 3 rises and bake at 375 till the internal loaf is 190.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I rarely make a recipe exactly as printed. Characteristically, I made some changes to this recipe, but it was a fantastic base. I used active dry yeast instead (2 1/4 tsp for each fresh yeast cake). I also used white whole grain flour and substituted 1/2 cup whole grain oat flour for some of the wheat flour. I also added a tablespoon of wheat gluten because whole grains tend to produce less elasticity. I'll probably increase the amount of rye flour next time and substitute agave nectar for the brown sugar (to lower the glycemic impact). This was an excellent and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Family loved it!! Sweet and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chariton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Roberts, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
I have not yet made this particular recipe, but I am sure it is exactly what I am looking for. Therefore, I rated it in advance. If I think differently after I make it, I will re-rate. I grew up on this bread and everyone in this part of the country (upper Michigan) is always looking for a good, sweet, rye bread. Not easy to find! Yes, it is awesome toasted and for the sandwich part??? I have found that it makes great ham sandwiches. I always try to find sweet rye bread around Christmas because it is so good with ham. I use a small amount of mustard and for some reason American sliced, processed cheese works very well and I usually don't like that cheese much. It just goes good with this bread and ham. For those who can't get cake yeast, use 1 1/2 packets of dry active yeast, or about 3 1/3 tsp. of dry active yeast. Just proof the yeast in the warm water before adding to dry ingredients. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: L'anse, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
I just browsed through the several recipes on this board for Swedish rye bread, and this particular recipe is the closest to the recipe that my Swedish mother used (from what I can recall. My wife has been making the bread for us for the past several years after being taught how by my mother. It is part of our Christmas tradition. I did note that one reviewer said the bread was "too sweet" for sandwiches--yes, but that is not the end purpose for Swedish rye. On Christmas morning, we have at my house the breakfast that I have had every Christmas of my 65 years--pork sausage with cream gravy over Swedish rye!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
This bread wasn't too bad. I made the mistake of grabbing the wrong bag of flour, and ended up using our hand ground wheat flour instead of rye for this bread, but the loaves still came out quite tasty and sweet. I'll probably try this again and use the right flour next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States