Swedish Nuts II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
Made 2 nut recipes from this site. The glazed nuts and these. Brought both into the office and had a taste test. These won hands down. Taste just like the candied pecans you get on a salad in a fancy restaurant. Will be taking to parties as host/hostess gifts wrapped in pretty cellophane with a sprig of pine and a bow. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
I wanted a recipe to dress up some leftover nuts I had from holiday baking (walnuts, whole almonds, and pecans). I threw it together at the last minute for my Superbowl party as people were coming in the door. It was SO quick and So easy and SOOO delicious!! Don't be surprised when it looks horrible as it starts cooking, cause it's not too pretty. However, I followed the directions to a T, and they came out wonderful!!Everyone loved them, and a few people left with the recipe! I will be making bags/tins of these for gifts next Christmas! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Excellent. This has a nice light and crunchy texture and taste, and what I love about this recipe is that you can take your time to evenly coat the nuts (and you can noticeably see which ones you've coated), while a lot of other candied nut recipes involving using the stovetop, you are required to work very quickly to coat the nuts before the mixture hardens. I compared these candied nuts with the stovetop candied nuts, and the feedback was that these ones tasted more unique! I also personally prefer the texture, look and taste of these ones. I will definitely be making these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ggglitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2000
I found this to be a good recipe, but, I used 1/2 the amount of butter and they came out great - less rich but more puffy with meringue (prettier too).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Yum! I made these a night ago and I've eaten half of them already on my own. I used almonds (plus some flaked almonds) as I ran out of nuts so I also had to halve the recipe after I realised. I followed the recipe word for word after that and it came out great! It doesn't sound like it will work but it does!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooch656

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
These are wonderful! Just like the ones you can buy fresh and warm in the mall. I added cinnamon, nutmeg and ground ginger to the egg mixture before adding the nuts. I'll be packaging these for Christmas gifts this year, they are that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEACHEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2000
I've made "sugared nuts" before and thought I'd try something a bit different. I don't even like nuts very well but I can't stop eating these! Even my daughter (2 years) who won't eat regular nuts enjoys these. I made a batch by mixing walnuts and pecans. My favorite are the pecans, but both are excellent. I added a cup of the finished product to my Chex Mix recipe this year and guests want to know what the sweet flavor is that they enjoy in the mix! These nuts are easy, store well in a sealed container and are difficult to sample because "just one more" keeps popping into my head!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
This is it! This is the spiced nut recipe I have been searching for. The only change I made to the recipe was to line my baking sheet w/ parchment paper before melting teh butter. Then I could just remove the pecans from the oven & let them cool on the baking pan w/out fear of them sticking. I added some dried cranberries to half the batch & loved teh addition. Thanks Joanie Critchlow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
My brother had "candied pecans" listed as one of his indulgences on his Christmas wish list, so I made a pound of this recipe for him. He was in heaven and wouldn't share any with the rest of his family. Guess he's getting some for his birthday too. I added a half a teaspoon of cinnamon for extra flavor. Be careful, it's easy to eat the whole batch at once.. it's that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delano, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2002
I made an initial batch of egg white mixture and it never did get glossy and stiff. So I threw it away and tried again, thinking some egg yolk was in the first batch. The second batch, same result. I was about to give up but I followed through with the rest of the recipe. The mix didn't look nice at all while cooking but after it cooled - delicious! I will make this again, even after that bad experience!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

How to Toast Nuts

See how to toast raw nuts to draw out flavors and aromas—and get storage tips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States