Swedish Nuts II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This is a fabulous recipe, and it is so easy and fast. I made one batch following the recipe, but cutting the amount of butter to half. I liked this, which put more meringue on the nuts as someone else suggested. However, the second batch was made with cinnamon and a dash of cayenne also suggested by someone else. It was also delicious. Since I was going to a Christmas lunch with friends, I quickly bagged some in ziploc snack bags, folded the closing strip under the bag, and tied a wide red ribbon around the plastic bag. Arriving at the luncheon a bit early, I placed one at each place setting. Everyone was thrilled and the table looked a bit more festive. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
Thank you so much for this recipe. Aussies not used to this kind of Xmas treat - and I felt like a genius. Very popular with family and friends. Roll on Xmas 2007 Added a little chilli powder which gave it a beautiful kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
Fantastic! Reminds me of a recipe my mother used to make when I was a child. I substituted some brown sugar for some of the white sugar, and added a little cinnamon to taste. I also sprinkled some cinnamon/white sugar mixture on during the last 5 minutes of baking. Can't wait to try them in a mandarin orange/chicken salad with dried cranberries and a sesame orange dressing. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Awesome as a snack or can be put into a salad. I served it for Easter (in a Spinach/Strawberry Salad) and it went over well. *Yummy*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARESSISLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Connellsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Suntree, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
Finally, a spiced nuts "keeper" recipe. They were crispy and subtly flavored. I used walnuts instead of pecans, added some cinnamon & a dash of cayenne, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Watch out your oven isn't too hot, as they can burn easily. Thank you Joanie Critchlow for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
These were simply awesome. Everyone Loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
SOOOOO... Easy!! They were a big hit with the guys especially. I loved the idea of being able to make them a few days ahead of time and then put them in a gallon ice cream bucket till the holidays. Will be made anytime we have guests, just as a nice snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
These nuts are great! The first time I made them I burned them. I didn't even want to serve them, but my sister in law loved them even burnt. I have made them a couple of times since and each time they have come out perfectly. I think my oven runs hot so I lowered the temp to 300. Last time I made them I added cayenne pepper to them for a sweet spicy flavor and they were a hit! Made them again today regular and they are already gone. So easy and impressive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
After 24 minutes, my nuts were done. I wrapped these in decorative baggies and gave them out as gifts at Christmas. I've received NUMEROUS recipe requests. P.S. I LOVE them, too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
This is it! This is the spiced nut recipe I have been searching for. The only change I made to the recipe was to line my baking sheet w/ parchment paper before melting teh butter. Then I could just remove the pecans from the oven & let them cool on the baking pan w/out fear of them sticking. I added some dried cranberries to half the batch & loved teh addition. Thanks Joanie Critchlow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

How to Toast Nuts

See how to toast raw nuts to draw out flavors and aromas—and get storage tips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States