Swedish Nuts II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I make these every year to give as gifts. They are wonderfully good to snack on when you need a little bit of sweet. **Note: Keep a careful watch when you toast the nuts-- they go from toasted to burnt in no time! Same goes when baking: pay close attention to the nuts or else the butter can burn and ruin the whole batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paris, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Very yummy! They looked very white in the beginning but they do actually darken to a nice brown. I used 1/2 the butter and was still very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I grew up calling these Nurtz. I make them every year and give as gifts. People love them and they are so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
These nuts are requested each Christmas for me to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
These are fantastic! I added a sprinkle of allspice and a dash cinnamon to the mixture before coating the nuts. They make wonderful homemade Christmas gifts in my family. Easy enough to make all year round, but I save them for the holidays. People get so excited when they see them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
These are very easy to make and make a wonderful addition to my cookie trays at Christmas. Be careful - they can be addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austinburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
great receipe, but I found the nuts were a bit soft. Toast the nuts first and they come out wonderful and crunchy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Wonderful. I made them last year and again this year, and everyone seems to love them! I followed the recipe exactly, and made 3 pounds of nuts, with almonds, pecans, and walnuts. I wouldn't suggest almonds, as they don't stay coated very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Harte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henley, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This is a fabulous recipe, and it is so easy and fast. I made one batch following the recipe, but cutting the amount of butter to half. I liked this, which put more meringue on the nuts as someone else suggested. However, the second batch was made with cinnamon and a dash of cayenne also suggested by someone else. It was also delicious. Since I was going to a Christmas lunch with friends, I quickly bagged some in ziploc snack bags, folded the closing strip under the bag, and tied a wide red ribbon around the plastic bag. Arriving at the luncheon a bit early, I placed one at each place setting. Everyone was thrilled and the table looked a bit more festive. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

How to Toast Nuts

See how to toast raw nuts to draw out flavors and aromas—and get storage tips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States