Swedish Nut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
This is an old, tried and true pineapple cake recipe that's been around for over 30 years--that's how long I've been making it anyway! What's so interesting about this cake is that it has no butter, oil or shortening! It goes by many names, but no matter what you call it it's moist, delicious, pineapple-y and mixes up in no time. I think I like my frosting better tho'...only 1/4 cup butter, which I believe really gives it more of a cream cheese taste, and 2 c. powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
I have a recipe that is very similar to this one that I have been making for a long time. So, I was tickled when I came across this one. It took me all of 3 minutes to put together. Just dump everything in one large bowl and mix together. Be sure to keep an eye on this as it tends to bake quickly. If it starts browning to much around the edges before the middle is set, just lay a peice of foil on top until it's done. I didn't use the cream cheese icing because I didn't have any cream cheese. Out of desperation, I found a birthday cake icing on this site and used it. I did find me another 5 star recipe, so everything worked out for the best. Thanks Marie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2000
This recipe is really good,however a bit too sweet, next I might reduce in sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
very moist and very good..quick and easy...everyone loved it. i sent it to a lot of friends...jard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I too have made this cake for over 30 years. It is so moist and yummy. I use black walnuts in my batter and black walnuts in the icing....just gives it a little more kick. I sometimes sprinkle a little coconut on top of the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOLFBHARD
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2000
Very moist cake and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Thank you very much for this recipe. Everyone, including myself, in this family really likes it very much. I've made it quite a few times and will always make it. Thank you for letting me see it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2001
This cake was a great disappointment to me. I had guests and we all agreed that it wasn't worth making again. The only thing that even barely began to save it was the fact that the nuts added a bit of a crunch.I love cooking and take delight in trying out new recipes weekly. This one was definitely a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
This cake is great! I've lost count of the amount of times I've made it. One to keep me thinks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2000
Cake was moist and yummy! I made it in layers and frosted top and between. Pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States