Swedish Nut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I too have made this cake for over 30 years. It is so moist and yummy. I use black walnuts in my batter and black walnuts in the icing....just gives it a little more kick. I sometimes sprinkle a little coconut on top of the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOLFBHARD
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
This is an old, tried and true pineapple cake recipe that's been around for over 30 years--that's how long I've been making it anyway! What's so interesting about this cake is that it has no butter, oil or shortening! It goes by many names, but no matter what you call it it's moist, delicious, pineapple-y and mixes up in no time. I think I like my frosting better tho'...only 1/4 cup butter, which I believe really gives it more of a cream cheese taste, and 2 c. powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Thank you very much for this recipe. Everyone, including myself, in this family really likes it very much. I've made it quite a few times and will always make it. Thank you for letting me see it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
I love this recipe and everyone who eats it asks for the recipe. I just made it again for someone's birthday at work (their request) and am taking 3 copies of the recipe to work to share. I have probably shared it with over 30 people. One person made it 3 times in one week and called it "That Cake" because she gained five pounds that week. This recipe is practically perfect. I did reduce the sugar to 1 1/2 cups and I like it better that way. I also put the walnuts on top of the frosting instead of in the frosting because it looks nice that way. The frosting should be put on the hot cake. It will melt at first but as the cake cools it will set up. If you taste the frosting right after you beat it and then taste it after it has been put on the hot cake and cooled, it is better put on the hot cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
After my mother requested a moist cake with lots of nuts and a creamy frosting, I naturally took to allrecipes to find the perfect recipe. I came up with several contenders, but decided to try this one out first. I followed the advice of one reviewer and decreased the sugar to 1.5 cups and doubled the nuts. I briefly toasted the nuts that I used to top the cake. The result? Raves from both parents, who loved the level of sweetness and the moistness conferred by the pineapple. I'd say this is a cake that would win favor with adults more so than kids. The frosting has a very nice flavor, but if you follow the recipe and spread it on the hot cake, it will melt. I waited for the cake layers to cool, and then the frosting spread easily while maintaining its texture. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
i made this cake to use up some leftover crushed pineapple. halved all the ingredients and made a smaller round cake. my hubby LOVED it! we chilled it for an hour after icing it and it was even yummier..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
This cake was really easy to put together and turned out really great. I used canned pineapple slices that I crushed myself since I didn't have the crushed pineapple. I also used pecans and low fat cream cheese, and it still turned out really tasty. It was very moist and delicious. The topping was really sweet but that's how I like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
Modified the recipe slightly: half the sugar and double the nuts. Very yummy indeed! tasted very soft, even without adding butter. thumbs up for this easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
Very nice cake. A bit sweet, next time I would reduce the sugar. We had no pineapple so I used applesauce and lowered the baking temp to 325 to compensate for the extra moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Not Specified, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
This cake is delicious! I made it as directed, except that my can of crushed pineapple was only 14.5 oz, so I added enough pineapple juice to equal 20 oz. Very, very moist. Very, very sweet. I'm not sure why the recipe says to ice the cake while it's hot...I did wait about 15 minutes, but the cake was still plenty warm. I ~think~ it would be fine to wait until the cake cooled, but I haven't tried it yet. I'll absolutely make this cake again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tappahannock, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States