Swedish Nut Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Great. I'm Swedish and although I've never had this in Sweden it's definitely similar to other types of Swedish pastries. It was fairly easy to make - one note is that the mix gets very thick before 'folding in' the eggwhites. And it takes more than a 'fold' to get it all mixed together. But the result got a thumbs up from both adults and kids around here! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I had an issue with the "folding" technique, but otherwise these were fairly easy to make and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I thought these were just so-so. I brought them to an international pot luck and they didn't really go very well. Granted, there were tons of desserts there to choose from... One person did compliment them. I don't think I'll make them again, though since 3 cups of almonds are expensive for something that isn't 5 star worthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karla
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I agree with other reviewers, pretty tasty and yummy. Used a 13 x 9 pan, and that was just the right height in my opinion. I bet they will be even better tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
I just made this recipe for a friend who has just gone gluten-free and we LOVED it. I followed all of the cooking instructions as they are written except I used vanilla extract instead of almond extract. Also, I only needed to bake them for 45 minutes. The bars came out chewy and delicious. My only criticism is that despite the recipe only having 4 ingredients, it takes a long time to prepare and cook. I highly recommend this recipe for those who are trying or have to be gluten-free; it's well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Super easy and yummy! I agree that it is more of a cake-like consistency, though. It is great to find a gluten-free dessert that was originally that way. I loved having the almonds throughout the cake, it gave it a lot of texture. I might add cinnamon or cloves next time. This is open to a lot of variation and add-ons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CyM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I love recipes that don't require a lot of ingredients, so this one caught me eye. It's not a recipe that would be high on my list, but that might be because of some changes I made. I used only 1.5 cups of finely crushed PECANS and used VANILLA flavoring. The big difference came, I think, from the size pan used. I used a 9x13, which resulted in a thinner bar that required less time to bake (only 35-40 min). Mine didn't look anything like the picture, but it was okay. The topping was like of a lacy, crunchy texture, while the inside of the bar reminded me of pecan pie. I liked the fact that it wasn't overly sweet. Also, if you're counting Weight Watcher points, I figured out that if you cut the recipe into 12 servings, it's 5 points per serving. Again, it's an okay recipe, but it may be quite a while before I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boomer53

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Weeki Wachee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
It wasn't bad, but it was alot chewier than I expected it to be. I ground the almonds in a food processor until they were like the consistency of flour, but when the finished product came out I felt like I was chewing on almonds when I ate it. I received several requests at work for the recipe, so I think it deserves three stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATLMICHELLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by glitteratii
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
it turned out very well, but I'd say is more like a cake than "bars". I'd recommend using your stand mixer if you have one! I did the egg whites 1st, then put them in a separate bowl while I mixed the yolk mixture in the mixer. I'd also recommend adding the almond extract to the yolks before the nuts go in, just easier to mix in. Be sure to serve with some whipped cream & save a few ground almonds to sprinkle on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beatrice, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
Delicious! I made the mistake of putting the batter into an 8" X 8" pan (didn't have 9" X 9"), so it sort of flowed over, but they are still yummy. I will make these again but probably use a brownie pan. If you like almond, you will love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States