Swedish Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Delicious. we didn't make meatballs, but made it into a meat gravy. excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I thought this was very good as written, the four stars are for the recipe before additions. I had some missgivings about the meat holding it's shape so I added another 1/4 cup of bread crumbs. I also added a little more beef flavour with some extra OXO. Great with noodles on a cold day :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I tried this recipe tonight and was a little disappointed. The hamburger didn't hold together well even when I added an egg. I would use 1 chicken bullion and 1 beef boulion. It tasted awfully salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Delicious! I doubled the recipe so that my wife and I could each have a 14-serving portion. Wonderful sauce. I added fresh dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
TOO MUCH MILK! I made these accordingly and it turned out way too soft and mushy in the center. I know that they're supposed to be soft (I love Swedish Meatballs) but it was too mushy. I was already hesitant when I saw that 2/3 cups of evap milk was needed for only 1 lb of ground meat so I only added 1/2 cup and it was still too much milk. I checked out other Swedish Meatballs recipes online and many others recommend 1/4 cups of milk for 1 lb of meat. If you like extremely soft and mushy in the center meatballs, then you're in luck! If not, use less milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I'm also 1/2 Swedish and since didn't have one from my late mom when seeing this one from Iowa - Swedish girl knew it would be good. Quite the hit with the family just making minor changes/addition in using some Ground Veal with the Grou nd Beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I thought these were okay. The only change I made was using lean beef and ff evaporated milk. I thought the spice was a little strong. I ate a few when it was warm but not the leftovers. No one else complained. I might just like a less spicy meatball and a red or brown gravy. But, it tasted pretty close to what I know as a Swedish meatball, anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
What a great recipe! I have made these meatballs many times and my family loves them. I take a major short cut and use trader joes turkey meatballs - regular size and party size. I always have a bag in the fridge and a can of condensed milk in the pantry for a quick meal. I have topped mashed potatoes, egg noodles and pasta. The only change I made is that I use 2 tablespoons to cook the meatballs before adding the beef broth. Everything else I follow as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Made no changes. Good flavor. Meatballs fall apart very easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
I used nonfat condensed milk. Noah really likes this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States