Swedish Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Excellent. I added 2 shakes of worcestershire sauce and about 2 tablespoons of sour cream to the sauce. I also chilled the mixed meat mixture for 10 minutes in the freezer, then formed into balls, put back in freezer for another 5 minutes before I sauteed them. It worked perfectly. This recipe is very good. Husband couldn't stop saying how good it was! Definitely a keeper. NOTE: I'm not sure how this feeds 14 people. Maybe 2 meatballs a person??? This only made enough for 4 or 5 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blue eyed CC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
I thought these were very good, but of course I made a few changes. I used finely chopped onion & garlic and added about 3/4 c of bread crumbs to the meat mixture. I read the reviews prior to making them and was worried that 1/4 c bread crumbs with 2/3 c evaporated milk would make them way too soft. I also used 2% evaporated milk rather than the full fat version and added one egg. After browning the meat balls (in olive oil) I removed them and added the water and bullion, scraping off the browned bits from the bottom of the pan. After simmering them, I removed them again and added the water mixed with flour and remaining milk. I doubled the water and bullion, but not the water with the flour dissolved in it, it was still thick. I added some dried parsley and returned the meat balls to the pan while my yolk free egg noodles cooked. I used a large stock pot to brown the meat balls in batches as I don't have a skillet with high sides that is large enough for this recipe, it worked quite well. To those who found this recipe bland, Swedish meatballs aren't usually screaming with flavor, but rather a nice mild, creamy flavor. I found this recipe had very balanced flavors and I will make it again. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERDISA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plantation, Florida, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
These meatballs were a hit. I did make some minor changes. I mixed the meatballs as directed, but baked them at 350* for 15 minutes. Using homemade beef broth, I mixed 1 1/2 cups of broth with a full 15 oz. can of evaporated milk, and used a bit more flour. This went into a crock pot along with the meatballs. After heating for a time, (the sauce becomes a little brown)it was ready. I liked it so much without the lemon juice when I tasted it, I simply left that ingredient out. The meatballs were served as an appetizer. This recipe was rated very good by everyone who tried it. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
Made this recipe for the first time for a Christmas Party. Changed nothing, followed the recipe to a "T". Rave reviews!! Guests were searching for the swedish meatball that everyone was raving about. Will make again and again and again. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
At last a recipe that doesn't call for cream of soup!! My whole family loved this. I sauted the meatballs in olive oil instead of butter. I cooked fetticini and placed it in the bottom of a casserole dish. Topped the cooked noodles with the cooked meatballs. Poured the cooking broth into my 4 cup "fat separator" and return the fat-free broth to the saute pan. The flavor for the sauce is on the bottom of the pan!! Added fat-free evaporated milk (doubled the broth, milk, flour, and water). Cooked until slightly thick. I strained the sauce to remove darkened bits of meat and onions, and pured over meatballs and noodles. Then my husband called to say that he had to substitute for someone at a business dinner, so I put the whole thing in the fridge for the next night. The noodles were infused with the extra sauce and all flavors were well blended. Wonderful!! I will always make this one day ahead. It heated wonderfully in the microwave on a defrost setting as I did not want the edges to cook before the center was warm. A very healthy creamy sauce! Thanks for a new "keeper" at our house! Note: I ignored the second mention of 1 cup of evaporated milk. Like another reviewer, I think it is a misprint as the directions did not give mention to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
This was excellent! Flavorful and no cream soups! I did bake my meatballs instead of frying them. Much easier! My husband and son loved it and I was so suprised it was so tasty and rich! Yummy! Will make again! Its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LWIETHE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
I'm not a big fan of the swedish meatball but I brought these to Christmas dinner and they were devoured! I had to quadruple the recipe and by the 3rd batch, I would have to agree that it's extremely beneficial to chill the mixture before forming the balls and to freeze the formed balls for at least 5 minutes before browning. Also, I don't think I needed as much broth as it called for. Mine hardly thickened up but it may have been due to quadrupling the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
Tried this recipe tonight for dinner and it was delicious. I made just a few changes to the sauce by adding a few dashes of Worcesterchire sauce and 3 tablespoons of light sour cream. It seemed to add more flavor and made it more creamy. Thanks for the recipe, it will definitely be added to my recipes to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I tripled the recipe for a work potluck luncheon. These turned out well and proved to be very popular. I added finely minced garlic to the meat mixture, and used 50 percent more allspice as well as adding both freshly ground nutmeg and Worcestershire sauce. Also, it should be mentioned that I used venison ground. Chilling the meatballs in the freezer worked to perfection. This was all prepared the night before the function. The meatballs and sauce were not combined until the next morning when both were added to a crock-pot to be transported and heated at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISEREADER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
This was a good recipe. I would suggest pan frying the meatballs and using a non stick pan. I would also suggest sticking the meat in the freezer for about 10 minutes before forming into balls. The refrigerator just didn't do the trick. Otherwise they are a little wet and tend to stick to the pan (even a non stick pan)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States