Swedish Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Liza7298
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Yummy,yummy yummy!!!!! I loved the lemon juice, and so did my swedish friends that showed up last minute. I'll have to double next time though, there were no leftovers, darn!! I added a just a tad more bread crumbs to hold them together. But, other than that these are perfect the way they are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liza7298

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brattleboro, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
This is great. I also added Worcestershire sauce and sour cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
This was really good. I didn't have the allspice so just omited it. I will bake the meatballs next time. Its a texture thing...I like a firmer meatball...not a "steamed" type.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by binkyj826

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
This recipe was very good and actually pretty easy to make. I doubled the recipe and put it all in a crockpot to bring to a potluck. If you are making small meatballs be sure to mince the onions finely, as chopped onion pieces can seem pretty large in a small meatball. I substitured regular milk and canned beef broth for the evaporated milk and beef boullion plus water called for and it came out just fine. I used less milk than called for in the meatballs, as adding the full amount called for seemed like it would be too much, I would have had meat mush and been unable to roll them out. I think this depends on the beef you are using, mine seemed fairly moist to begin with. Also there seemed to be too much lemon juice for my taste, I had to add extra pepper and salt to the sauce to compensate, though once sitting in the crock pot for a while all the flavors mellowed nicely. Next time I will use only 1/2 the lemon juice. I will definitely make these again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Very good recipe. Since I served the meatballs with garlic cheddar red skinned mashed potatoes, yummy!!! I doubled the sauce ammount. BUTTER, not oil is the way to go when frying if your looking for a good flavor and not worried about calories. Next time I think I'll add some sour cream just to give it a little different taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamabird

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
These were very good but VERY rich. Maybe I'll try subbing some of the evaporated milk for some 2% for part of it - but these were a hit with everyone! Just can't make these every week...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
This was great a recipe. My wife made the meatballs on Friday by Saturday they were gone. Made meatloaf on Sunday using the sause and it didn't last two days. Thanks for the recipe. We had to increase the sause because it would go fast before the meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
This recipe mistakingly lists 1 and 1/3 cups evap. milk, and then again, 1 cup evap. milk. It's 1 and 1/3 total. Hope this helps someone out. As I had too much milk ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
wonderful recipe for an old favorite comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lady Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
My whole family loved it, even my picky 2 year old twins. I had a hard time getting meatballs to stay together, but still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States