Swedish Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This was excellent! Thanks to the svenska flicka in Iowa, we now have a great recipe for svenska meatballs. Who knew that a little allspice, and Evaporated Milk(!)would make something so delicious. (Secret ingredients, love it!) Also, very easy dish to make in large quantities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
I liked this recipe fairly well. I don't know if I really liked boiling the meatballs as I prefer a little bit of crunchy on my meatballs normally. I did really like the sauce. Also, I modified the recipe a little bit in that I used Gluten-Free bread to make the bread crumbs and used GF all-purpose flour in the sauce. Otherwise, this was really good and I like the hint of allspice in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
Nice meatballs, but I did add a dash of Worchestershire and a pinch of dried rosemary. I also rolled them in flour which helped the meatballs hold their shape (no freezing necessary) plus thicken the gravy. This wa, I did not have to add the slurry of flour and water, which would have diluted the flavor. I added some sour cream at the end. It was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susan May
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This was quite good. For the meat I used 1/2 lb. ground pork and 1/2 lb. ground venison, since that is what I had thawed. I also did follow some suggestions of other reviewers. I added about 1 1/2 tsp. of minced garlic to the meat mixture, increased the bread crumbs to 1/3 c., added an egg, and reduced the evaporated milk to 1/3 c. This made a very nice meatball that held up wonderfully when cooked. For the gravy, I added a heaping tbsp. of sour cream after it had thickend, otherwise no changes. Served it over mashed potatoes. It was a very nice comfort food meal, that we will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan May

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Oh YUMMM!!! These were awesome! Will fix again and again. Thank you for such a great easy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Belmont, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
This recipe was fairly easy to make and with a couple of personalizations was very tasty! I used half ground veal for the meatballs and added a bit of sour cream to the sauce. I think a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
Totally awesome. My whole family loved it. Wouldn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
Marvelous! Did have some problems when the meat left burnt brown bits on the skillet, the flour/milk mixture had burnt pieces mixed in. I had to make the mixture in a different skillet. Besides that one issue, the taste was delicious. I didn't have poppy seeds so I mixed the egg noodles with freshly ground peppercorn, lemon pepper, and dried parsley. Yum, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zox67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
Delicious! Easy to make, relatively quick, and no processed ingredients is a major plus. I added four cloves garlic to the meatballs, and doubled the gravy, and I'm glad I did. Served over garlic mashed potatoes with broccoli, mmmmm! Leftovers even tastier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Castlegar, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
These were very good but rich. Next time I may use 2 % milk instead of the evaporated milk. But my husband and kids all liked it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States