Swedish Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
I only gave it three stars becuase it was just fine. Not fantastic. The ingredient list should have the 1 2/3 c. evaoprated milk listed as divided, since I wasn't thinking and use the whole amount in the first step of mixing the meatballs, which made them waaaayyyy too wet (I'm not placing blame here, I should have paid better attention) and since it lists an additional 1 cup it was confusing. But it tasted fine even though the presentation was weird because of the meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Oh my gosh!!!! This was excellent!! Made this for dinner last Monday. My bf thought it was "OK", but he rarely likes cream sauces (oh well, more for me!). He ate two helpings though :) I followed other reviewer's suggestions to finely mince my onion, use a bit more breadcrumbs (maybe another 1/6 c. worth) and place my meatball mixture in the freezer for 10 minutes, remove and shape into 1 inch balls (using my Pampered Chef small scoop) and then freeze the formed meatballs on a cookie sheet for another 5 minutes. Perfect! I was able to fit all of my meatballs (there were a lot!) in a large, deep non-stick skillet. I used about 6 teaspoons of butter as I thought 2 teaspoons would not be enough.... I also did not skim the fat from my pan drippings, and found the sauce to be fine even without doing so (my sauce was not too greasy at all). To use up what was left of my container of sour cream that was soon to expire, I added about 1.25 tablespoons worth to the sauce (along with a couple dashes of Worcestershire sauce) at the very end of the cooking time. Oh, and I did bring my flour/water mixture and evaporated milk to a slight boil before reducing the heat to low to thicken (I think this helped thicken the sauce more quickly). Served over buttered egg noodles sprinkled with poppyseeds and a side of lingonberries. Absolutely delish! Thanks so much for sharing. This will make a permanent place in my "keeper" file :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
These were very good, but I did alter the recipe a bit. The main thing I changed was to use ground chicken instead of beef. In this case, cooling the meat in the freezer before making the meatballs was a must! I also added a few more bread crumbs (I just crushed croutons) and added a splash of worcestershire and a couple tablespoons of sour cream. Also used chicken bouillon instead of beef bouillon. Sauce turned out very creamy and rich. My husband and I ate it over rice and egg noodles. I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akbecca81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Egegik, Alaska, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
MMMM... delicious. I didn't have evaporated milk so just used some skim milk. I also used seasoned bread crumbs instead of plain. This is a wonderful and hearty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I made this for my boys ages 6, 3, 20 months. They loved it. It was described as better than Kung Fu Panda right behind Disney World. I only had to replace the evaporated milk with cream because I didn't have any. WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
I really loved this recipe! I didn't have breadcrumbs so I used pepperidge farm stuffing mix, crushed a bit finer. Subbed the condensed milk with heavy cream. I took the advice of others and added a dash of nutmeg to the sauce, a splash of worcestershire and a few spoonfuls of sour cream. I will no doubt be making this again and again! It's a great base to tweek to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Made this last night and served over egg noodles. It was excellent! Hardest part was turning the meatballs while browning. As the one side cooked, it flattened a bit and thus wanted to return to that side when attempting turn. Used tongs to turn but had to be real gentle to keep from breaking meatballs. One other note is definitely SIMMER. If you allow your liquid to boil, the bubbles will tend to break apart the meatballs. All in all, an excellent recipe. My wife told me that I was going to memorize this recipe as she would request it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imacamper

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I did not have time to read the reviews before I made this recipe so I prepared it exactly as stated (except I had to sub heavy cream for half of the evap milk because I ran out, worked fine). As written, it's good but it needs work. First, these meatballs were too soft. I think they need about 1/4 cup more breadcrumbs. Second, I recommend draining the fat from the meatballs as soon as they are brown, then add the liquid. It's too hard to skim the fat off otherwise. Finally, this sauce needed salt. It was too bland otherwise. I will make again, but definitely will tweak. You also only need 1 and 2/3 cups evaporated milk, not 2 and 2/3 cup, that's a typo. **added later**Be sure to drain the fat first, it's too hard to do it after adding the broth and my hubby and I both got very sick from all of the fat left behind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I had a bunch of leftover frozen meatballs in my freezer and decided to adapt this recipe to use with them. Am I ever glad I did. My whole family loved this and I will never, ever buy Swedish Meatball Mix or Frozen Swedish Meatballs again. This recipe blows them away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I really messed this recipe up by adding the whole 1 2/3 C. of milk to the meat mixture, so my meatballs turned into mush while in the skillet. I decided to finish the dish anyway and came up with a meat sauce that we ate over noodles. It was great, the kids loved it! I grew up in Iowa, and had swedish meatballs a lot while there. I had never tried to make them before. Next time I will make the real meatballs, but the sauce I ended up with this time tasted just like the swedish meatballs I remember!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XNAENAEX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huxley, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States