Swedish Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
My family loved these! I added an egg to the mixture based on reviews that some people had problems with the meatballs falling apart. (super lean meat usually needs a little help sticking together, fattier meat will not need the egg) Lots of flavor - loved the poppy seeds on the noodles! Even my 3 year old twins liked them, and they usually don't like anything with a sauce or anything new!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Waldher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilkeson, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
This recipe makes Ikea's Swedish Meatballs taste like dog food! This recipe is absolutely amazing. The only thing I added was some garlic, but otherwise I wouldn't change a thing. Absolutely delicious and will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn in CT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
This one was liked by my whole family, but I found it wasn't that flavorful...maybe I just wasn't in the mood for Swedish Meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
My husband told me to rate this a 10+. He loved this so much he wants it regularly. I was not expecting this to taste this good! It brought back so many memories of the old frozen Swedish Meatball meals I used to eat all the time but these were so so much better! Made a double batch, added an egg to the meat mixture and also about 4 cloves of garlic. Followed the rest of the directions but tripled the amount of gravy because my husband has to have tons of sauce when there is a sauce involved. It was great over noodles the way I had it but my hubby had his over mashed up boiled potatoes with butter on them and he said he only wants it with the potatoes. Very very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4FIVE05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
My husband made this recipe for me after hearing me complain that I wanted some Swedish meat balls from Ikea. These were better! I love the fact that the recipe does not use a cream soup. This recipe is the real deal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Saugerties, New York, USA
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
A good old-fashioned, budget-friendly, filling meal. I used a pound & a half of lean ground meat. (I would use less milk with the meat if only using a pound). Drained off quite a bit of grease before the flour, deglazing steps. The gravy seemed a bit bland so I threw in garlic powder & pepper. Mine was a bit runny but very flavorful - boys loved it! Update - didn't even remember making this! Made it again, used 1 lb very lean ground meat, only 1/3 c Panko bc, 1/3 c evap milk. Used olive oil to fry meatballs (get your pan pretty hot to prevent mb from falling apart & turn gently with your fingers). Used minced onion instead of real. 1 bouillion cube (hubby has to watch his salt) lots of garlic. Takes a while to get it thick, but everyone really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Phenomenal! One of the first meals my mom taught me to make was Swedish meatballs... I was delighted to find a recipe that doesn't utilize packaged seasonings or canned soup! I made a few minor adjustments: used a scant cup SEASONED breadcrumbs and also added 1 egg and minced garlic to the meat mixture. I put the meat mixture in the freezer for 10 min prior to rolling into meatballs. Although other users mentioned using olive oil - the "key" to authentic Swedish meatballs is to brown them in butter!!! I used homemade beef stock instead of the bullion which gave the sauce an awesome flavor boost (but I'm sure bullion works just as well). I did forget to add the lemon juice - but the sauce was perfect as is without it. Served with traditional egg noodles the first night - served the leftovers with mashed potatoes the next day (it was AWESOME with mashed potatoes). Mmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Thank you for this recipe, it was just what i was looking for. it is so simple and easy to put together. better than IKEA's swedish meatballs. only suggesting i have is to only add 1 buillion cube or use beef broth or stock to cut the salt content, which I did the second time i made this dish. both times i put the meatballs on a bed of egg noodles. i will definately make this twice a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geminimistress

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
my whole family really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B.Wilkinson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
Okay, this recipe is amazing! What I love is that these simple ingredients are usually in your pantry and freezer. I took some liberties with this recipe and it still turned out 5 stars. I only had 1 – 12 oz can of evaporated milk. I used 4 oz in the meatballs and used the remaining 8 oz in the sauce. I didn’t have breadcrumbs, so I threw a hotdog bun in the food processor and got about 2/3 C crumbs and used all of them. I also added 1 egg to the meat mixture. Using my KA stand mixer for combining the meatball ingredients makes for short work. I refrigerated the prepared meatballs prior to cooking because it helps to firm them up, but just frying them with a cover on your skillet which allows them to steam firms them up also. For the sauce, I used 4 tsp of granulated beef bouillon with 2 C water and the 1 C evaporated milk. I seasoned the sauce and thickened with 3/4 C water & 3 Tb flour. Finally, I added a pinch of ground allspice and a pinch of nutmeg to finish the sauce. Wow! Thanks so much Emily! This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States