Swedish Meatballs (Svenska Kottbullar) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This dish was perfect. I wanted to try it as my grandmother used to make Swedeish Meatballs at Christmas times as well. The flavor is perfect and the gravy outstanding. Thank you for helping me create the same memories with my children. Thank you for sharing the recipe. The entire family loved it and my children will usally avoid anything with onions. They went back for seconds on this fabulous dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Leaf
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This was DELICIOUS!!!! Meatballs were super tender spices were perfect, nice and savory. Gravy was very good (I'm going to try less sour cream next time but I like a meatier gravy) I made the gravy with the dripping like it called for but I used the pan I fried meatballs in earlier which had even more drippy goodness in it. I served the meatballs over rice but I might try noodles sometime. A word of caution, try to pace yourself while eating these it's easy to inhale a couple dozen and these deserve to be savored!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Very close to my family's recipe. Thanks for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This is oh so good. I did a search online for the Swedish Name version. Tried some. This is by far the tastiest! After everything was done, I put in slow cooker on warm. Added noodles way al dente. When we were ready to eat, every taste blended wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I only made the meatballs from this recipe, not the gravy. I also used groung turkey rather than beef & pork. That said, it's the spices that really make this recipe. I was afraid the meatballs would taste "odd" using spices usully reserved for baked goods, but it's actually really good. After baking the meatballs, I put them in a covered casserole with a can of cream of chicken & a can of cream of mushroom soup with some milk to make a gravy. I baked them for about 40 minutes & then served over egg noodles. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Nice tender meatball. I had my grandmothers swedish meatball in mind when I tried this.....but this doesn't have enough seasoning for my taste. Otherwise, lovely and simple but I would zap up the nutmeg and allspice a tiny bit. My grandmother used to put a tiny bit of the allspice in the gravy too. I also served this with tiny yellow potatoes, lingonberries and carrots and brussel sprouts. Very nice combo. Thanks for sharing this tasty recipe Nom Nom Nom :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Yuuuummmm! This was so good - it vaguely reminds me of the Swedish meatballs my mother used to make whenever there was a party. I didn't have time for "day-old" bread, so I lightly toasted two slices and crumbled those with the cream. Also, I used a bit more meat (closer to 1 lb. of beef, 1/2 lb. of pork) but otherwise everything else was the same. I recommend using all the spices incl. the brown sugar and ginger. They blend beautifully and the taste is subtle and delicious. Great recipe; thanks to NomNomNom for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Definitely 5 stars!!! I was hesitant to use what Americans call "baking spices" with meat but I'm so glad I tried this (including the ginger). The spices are perfectly blended and very subtle. I served it over egg noodles which works great with the gravy & meatballs. I would be very proud to serve this to dinner guests. The only change I made was to use 1/2 lb ground beef & 1/2 lb ground pork instead of the 2/3 & 1/3 ratio in the recipe (just for practicality -- I will be making this again soon!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HNECKONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
These meatballs were delicious. Great recipe, will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This is the 2nd time I have made swedish meatballs (I tend to play around with recipies to make them "mine") and couldn't find the last recipe I used. I AM SO GLAD I DIDN'T! This is by far the best I have tasted and by even looking at the recipe it is about the same as what I changed in the last one too! For everyone who is worried about the taste, give it a shot! The only change I made was to use 1/2 hamburger 1/4 pork sausage and 1/4 mild spiced sausage (we lie a little kick in our meat dishes though) It as DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShaanaArmstrong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States