Swedish Meatballs (Svenska Kottbullar) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Just made these,used fresh ground pork. Just wonderful. The spices were perfect. This recipe will be my go to recipe from now on but need to make a larger batch, very hard not to nibble on them, so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brenniecooks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Excellent flavor! Kids asked for repeat! 5 stars for meatballs. I used all ground turkey for health reasons. Turkey is soft which makes browning in pan difficult...they fall apart when turning. Instead, I placed on baking sheet and browned in oven, then followed the rest of the instructions for the meatballs. Reasons for 4 starts is the gravy...too much flour taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I made this without the optional ingredients. IT WAS PHENOMENAL!!! The meatballs are fantastic. The gravy was great, though I will probably use a little less sour cream next time. Once it was finished, we split it into individual serving containers and froze it (without the noodles, so we could take them for lunches at work. My husband hates frozen meals, and he hates leftovers, but he can't get enough of these. I just make fresh noodles the night before, and it's a perfect lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Delicious!! I haven't been able to find a recipe as good as this in years. The meatballs are so tender & tasty, love the taste of the spices, just perfect. This is the one I'll be keeping!! I did however make a couple changes to the recipe,I substituded Philidelphia Cream Cheese for the cream in the meatballs, omitted the ginger & brown sugar. I also added fresh mushrooms to the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick Whittles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
This was absolutely delish. I followed to a tee and then put in crockpot to keep warm. Only thing was that it seemed there wasn't enough gravy so I am going to double the chicken/beef broth next time. Other than that, it was an amazing Valentine's dinner and the boyfriend couldn't stop raving! Thanks! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lrshaw

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I followed recipe exactly like written... I thought it was over the top sweet, almost like eating a cupcake. I think there were errors in cooking time, it took me well over 2 hours to make this and I am not an amatuer cook. I also think that if you try this recipe, do not add the sour cream to the simmered sauce unless you temper the sour cream or it can curdle. I'm sorry but very disapointed in this recipe. I only gave it a two star beccause the meatball was tender and moist which is always nice. Just thought too much went into this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This recipe is amazing. My bf had never had Swedish meatballs and now he's obsessed. Even better when topped with mushrooms during the final 10 min or so in the over. Perfect and tasty meal. One of our regular favorites now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I was really excited about trying this recipe, but the end result was not what I expected. The meatball itself turns out great, as does the gravy, but it's the flavor that I don't care for. If I were to take out the ginger, allspice and nutmeg I would have loved this recipe, but with those spices it just has a very odd flavor in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Excellent. Great with wide egg noodles. I would suggest being generous with the sauce when making it if you are serving over noodles--the noodles soak it up really fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Very Yummy! Used a little over a lb. of burger and a tube of regular breakfast sausage (basically double the meat)...added all the optional seasonings (not optional in our opinion if you want the true Swedish meatball flavor) and added them to the gravy as well. Meatballs are melt in your mouth tender -- Sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States