Swedish Meatballs (Svenska Kottbullar) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Love this recipe and I've been using it for a while now! I was wary of the spices at first but now I'd never make this without them. I use a bit less sour cream because I found it too strong the first time around. I also find the baking instruction to be pretty flexible. If I don't have the time, I just pour the chicken or beef broth in the pan, cover it and let them finish cooking. Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Awesome just as recipe states
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I did not like the meatballs. They were to soft. I could barely keep them together as they were sauteing, plus I thought they were bland. The sauce was pretty good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Excellent meatballs, very moist and flavorful. I made these just like the recipe stated except I put the meatballs in the crockpot instead of the oven. I let them cook for about 3 hours and they were perfect. I was suspicious of using the spices (allspice and nutmeg) that the recipe called for but I didn't notice them later. I served it over egg noodles. Most delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Russellville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
It was marvelous swedish meatballs. I was surprised on how tasty the meatballs. My son was crazy about this. We ate it with mashed potatoes once, and with rice. Both were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
My grandparents are from sweden and I make it this way all the time, except I make it with 1lb beef n 1/2 lb pork, it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Awesome! Definitely the best Swedish meatballs I ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
These were delicious. I made them for a baby shower and they were well received. Don't skip out on any of the seasonings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I doubled this recipe for Christmas dinner and kids and adults, enjoyed it alike. I varied from the recipe only slightly, choosing not to add nutmeg or brown sugar and added only a dash of ginger. The flavor from the spices is so slight, you would never know it was in there, if you hadn't read the recipe. Maybe adding all the spices along with the brown sugar makes for the odd sweetness other reviewers have posted about? If you're concerned with those flavors, leave them out all together or go conservative. I don't think it would take away from the dish. In the description of this recipe, the author mentions putting this in the crock pot but gives no further instructions. So, I winged it. I prepared as above, placed meatballs in the crock pot, covered with gravy, and placed in the refrigerator overnight. Christmas morning, I put it on low for 4 hours. I didn't add the sour cream until about 15 minutes before serving just because I forgot to add it... and I served it over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irish Colleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This turned out fantastic! The meatballs were moist and the gravy was smooth and creamy. I too was hesitant about using all of the different spices but it wasn't over powering or too sweet. I served this with egg noodles and my husband loved it! I will definitely be serving this to family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Apopka, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States