Swedish Meatballs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
The meatballs were great. I would suggest that you pat them out with a papertowel after taking them out of the oven. I thought it would give more flavor if I didn't, but I was wrong. Otherwise, this is a great meatball recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
The meatballs were a little bland, but that's easy to fix. They have a nice texture and hold together well. I stuck toothpicks with frilly tops in each meatball and served them at my football party last Sunday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
I can see where people are saying they dont like this sauce. So many people who reviewed have confused EVAPORATED MILK with CONDENSED MILK. No where near the same thing. READ THE RECIPE people!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnaRae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission Valley, Texas, USA
Living In: Goliad, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
On the whole, the family liked this, but the sauce was a bit bland. Maybe a bit of sweet chilli sauce might give it a kick. Will definitely make again though. Any serving suggestions would be of great help, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
This was good. My 6 yr old told me I should make this for dinner every night. Only thing I'll change next time is to double the sauce, wasn't near enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
This was the first time I had attempted to make swedish meatballs, and they turned out wonderful!! I got rave reviews from my family,(who are all cooks or chefs)....I really liked the addition of tomatoe sauce to the white sauce, it added a nice hint of color and another complete depth to the flavor without being obvious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
I tried this recipe tonight and it was pretty good. I read the reviews first and made a few changes. I basically doubled the ingredients used in the "gravy." I also added a few teaspoons of parsley flakes and added salt/pepper and onion salt. The gravy came out to a really nice consistency and a nice flavor. This is a keeper that I will copy into my personal recipe book :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
I make the same recipe with some changes. I bake the meatballs at 350 till done on a cookie sheet. Put meatballs in baking dish. For the sauce I use the drippings, 1 can evaporated milk, 1 can cr. mushroom soup, and 1/4 cup sour cream mixed together and poured over meatballs. Then bake them for about 2 hrs. on 300 or until sauce is the way you like it. We like the extra sauce to serve over mashed potatoes or noodles. I go really easy on the nutmeg. A little dill weed also is good if you like that flavor. This came from a Swede from the old country. The only difference is she used heavy cream and sour cream, thickened with a little flour to pour over. A very good recipe we serve every Christmas, as well as throughout the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Not sure what happened since I followed the directions to a T. Meatballs were really, really good, but the sauce... Hmmm.....We had to pass--it went right in the garbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
Please do not confuse EAVPORATED milk with condensed milk which is sweetened and goopy. You may not substitute one for the other. The recipe is very good, but the sauce needs more herbs or spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States