Swedish Meatballs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
this was a great recipe and easy to make! i made the meatballs with turkey and they tasted so good with some pretty basic ingredients. there wasn't enough sauce though following the directions so i ended up adding some extra regular milk, and flour. i also added salt and pepper to the sauce definitely a recipe i'd make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Very good meatballs. I made this with turkey meat and they were yummy. If you use turkey though make the meatballs a little smaller than golf ball size. Turkey doesn't shrink like beef so mine were a little on the large size. I also didn't used the sauce recipe provided as I has some packets from IKEA for the meatball sauce (cope out I know but its very tasty)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beverly, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cinnaminson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Use Jessica's sauce and these meatballs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
This wasn't too hard for me to make while the kids were down for Quiet Time. I didn't fry the meatballs, no time for that. I formed them with my small cookie scoop to make uniform balls and baked them. The meatballs were the right firmness, if not a little dry. The whole recipe seemed to be missing a couple flavors that I can't pinpoint. I liked the tomato sauce addition. I'd like to try this meatball recipe with another swedish meatball sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
These meatballs are excellent, however, I used Jessica's sauce after seeing other had tried this. These two recipes make the perfect pair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kylie Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gilbertsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
These are very tasty meatballs! My guys loved them! They like cream gravy, so that's what I made. I've already made them twice. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deadliest Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Very dry recipe. Not any flavor. I've never tried swedish meatballs before, so don't have anything to compare to. Will not try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Made these tonight and the meatballs were fantastic but the sauce needed extra. Next time I will follow another reviewers advice and add more nutmeg, paprika, tarragon and garlic salt to the sauce. Edited: Made these again tonight and they were perfect! I doubled the sauce (used 1 can evap milk and some half and half). Also added a good couple shakes of nutmeg, couple pinches of dill, a dash of paprika and a dash of garlic powder and salt to taste. The sauce was super yummy. I browned the meatballs in a skillet and then put them in a baking dish, poured the sauce over top and put in the oven for 2 hours at 225 degrees to finish cooking all the way through. Served over penne pasta and w/ steamed broccoli on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
These meatballs were very tasty - I will definitely make them again. Made them just as instructed - and made the sauce others had recommended with the Evap milk and cream of mushroom and cream of chicken soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Delicious! I made this meatballs as directed, but like others suggested, I used the sauce from Swedish Meatballs I (1 cup evap. milk, 1 can cream of chicken, 1 can of cream of mushroom). I cooked the meatballs, drained them, added them to my crockpot in layers, pouring the sauce over each layer. Cooked on low for 4 hour. OMG. We will never eat any other meatballs. These would be great with marinara over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States