Swedish Meatballs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
Oh WOW were these ever good.. but I must warn you I altered the recipe a lot. After trying a few really bland recipe's I wanted some FLAVOR.. soooo Instead of cream of wheat, I used Italian bread crumbs. I also added 1/2 tsp allspice, 1 TSP worceschire sauce, 1 tsp garlic powder, and one package Lipton Onion Soup Mix to the meat... (I used 1/2 lb ground beef and 1/2 lb ground pork). I think Marla really hit it on the head with frying the meatballs instead of baking them initially. This really added a lot of flavor. I then used Jessica's sauce (1 can evaporated milk, 1 can cream of chicken soup, one can cream of mushroom soup, and my own addition of 1/4 cup white wine. I have had authentic swedish meatballs in Sweden and these were much better!!! Thanks Marla
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I am giving this a five star only cause I changed the recipe. I made the meatballs just like this recipe. I used the sauce recipe from Swedish Meatballs I. 1 can of cream of chicken soup, 1 can of cream of mushroom soup and 1 can evaporated milk. Do not confuse evaporated milk with condensed milk. They are very different. They turned out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Harper Woods, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
The meatballs came out awesome. I followed the recipe exactly. I did use the sauce recipe from Swedish Meatballs I, 1 can of cream of chicken soup, 1 can of cream of mushroom soup and 1 can of condensed milk. Thanks, for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
I thought this meatballs were delicious. I just cannot follow the rules though, so I did add some worstershire sauce and I used seasoned breadcrumbs. Also, the gravy looked time consuming and I have no luck with gravies, so I used Jessica's Swedish Meatball sauce containing cream of mush soup, cream of chick soup, and evaporated milk. I baked the meatballs for 40 minutes and it was absolutely delicious. Very flavorful and lots of gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
I make the same recipe with some changes. I bake the meatballs at 350 till done on a cookie sheet. Put meatballs in baking dish. For the sauce I use the drippings, 1 can evaporated milk, 1 can cr. mushroom soup, and 1/4 cup sour cream mixed together and poured over meatballs. Then bake them for about 2 hrs. on 300 or until sauce is the way you like it. We like the extra sauce to serve over mashed potatoes or noodles. I go really easy on the nutmeg. A little dill weed also is good if you like that flavor. This came from a Swede from the old country. The only difference is she used heavy cream and sour cream, thickened with a little flour to pour over. A very good recipe we serve every Christmas, as well as throughout the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
This rating review is for the meatballs *only*. After reading reviews from Swedish Meatballs I & II, I made the meatballs from this recipe and the sauce from the other. Served over steamed veggies and egg noodles. My family loved this combination! I printed out the combined recipe to use during the winter months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
Delicious! Don't skip the nutmeg. You don't want a huge amount, not enough to think "hmm, there's nutmeg in this", just enough to enhance the other flavors. I think I'd like to try sour cream instead of evaporated milk in the sauce some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
This is a family favorite. These are very easy, and so delicious. My hubby's all time favorite! I substituted ketchup for the tomato sauce, used saltine crackers for bread, and doubled the condensed milk to 4 T in the bread crumb mix and it turned out fabulous! Serves 4. Reheats well as leftovers, if you are lucky to have any. I've made this one over and over again...always wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
I followed Beanhead's idea below. It was SO yummy and tasty! My husband was so impressed, he wants to have that specific recipe at least 3 times a month!! My children ate it up - even the baby of the house had 2 bowls!! Was VERY yummy! Thanks Beanhead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovemyfamily09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
This was good. My 6 yr old told me I should make this for dinner every night. Only thing I'll change next time is to double the sauce, wasn't near enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States