Swedish Meatball Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
It makes sense to me to omit the boxed hamburger meal and just use plain pasta and add your own seasonings...otherwise you are just adding a whole bunch of ingredients to try and mask the horrible taste of hamburger helper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I don't see the value of doing the work this dish takes, and then adding the unhealthy additives present in a boxed Hamburger Helper. I couldn't recommend this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mommie2Angel
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I just wanted to say that the caseerole came out excellent! We made a side of brown rice with this dish. I made some changes however. I added 2 turkey sausages into the meat mixed and used a little more bread crumbs. Instead of one pack of cream cheese, I used two packets of powdered cheese mix that came with the "hamburger helper". I didnt use hamburger helper, I used an organic brand and used two boxes instead of one. I also added some cut onions to the water. I completly took out the nutmeg and instead added some bays seasoning, thyme, parsley and the salt. I used real garlic instead of powdered then I used a tablespoon of tomato paste along with the a1 sauce. Also, after I cooked the meatballs and the macaroni in the oven. I added a bag full of mixed veggies. Mixed together and added the meatballs on top with Mottzarealla cheese sprinkled over the top and some olive oil. I let it cook for ten minutes and all done! A delicious meal! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Made this according to directions disappointed,hamburger helper is no help. Wouldn't suggest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Creamy and cheesy with little fuss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Photo by jmills420
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
So after reading all the other reviews I decided not to use nutmeg and used garlic powder and onion powder. After cooking noodles I added fresh green beans then the cooked meatballs and baked together. My husband said it was a great stroganoff with a side of green beans. I will make again and just steam the green beans on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I basically just used the idea of it. I didn't have hamburger helper so I had to do some substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
The noodles would have been better off boiled in water, and the sauce mix just made separately. Omitted nutmeg and added celery seed. Otherwise a very tasty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynister

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meatball Nirvana

See how to make top-rated baked meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States