Swedish Meat Pies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
Very good recipe. We added some frozen peas and carrots, I think it's better with a little more veg, and about 1/4 of the cheese. I made half as directed then added curry powder to the second half. Both were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GENESSAWAITE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I grew up on these. My dad's father's family was from Sweden and had these perfected. For this many ingredients, it needs a lot more than a tsp. of salt and some black pepper. I never had tried it with the allspice, dill and nutmeg before, but it was so good. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
The crust is awesome! The key is sour cream I'm thinking. All the flavors in the meat and crust were very good. I definitely will be making this again! I think maybe adding a little beef broth to the meat mixture would give a more saucy affect as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Painesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wetumpka, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
This is so yummy and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
This is fantastic, I did a few things a little different I used about 10 tablespoons of sour cream for the dough and about 1/2 cup milk. I only had 1/4 shortening so I substituted the rest with butter. I also added three tablespoons sour cream to the meat mixture. I added garlic and extra parsley. I love learning new swedish recipe, I wish my family held on to tradition a little more. I wish defiantly be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This is a great recipe. The filling did need some salt. It was my first time trying a meat pie, and it took longer than the estimate because it has been a while since I have made dough. Next time I think I will make the pies smaller perhaps dividing the dough into six pieces. I used Russet potatoes and margarine because that was what I had on hand. I will make this again! Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This is the second time that I have made these. My family LOVE them. I am from Junction City, Oregon, I work at the Scandinavian festival and I buy more than one of these every year. I do add fresh garlic, garlic salt and pepper. I did end up doubling the pastry and I bought this really cool mini pie press from Target to use. They look great and they are amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
The wife loved these. I thought they were a touch on the bland side. Granted, I haven't had Swedish food yet that wasn't beige and salty, so maybe I'm not the best judge. I will say that the dough was wonderful and I plan on using it for other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bunchwacky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I have to agree what some others have said about the meat being somewhat bland, but I did leave out the allspice, dill weed, and nutmeg. I added garlic salt and dried basil. Instead of the dough, I simply used a box of Jiffy pie crust using 4 T. of water and 2 T. sour cream. I should have used 2 boxes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mesandberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
We love the swedish meat pies at the scandinavian fest in Junction City! Now we can eat them all year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States