Swedish Cream Wafers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
So flaky and sweet! To save time, I roll out 2 balls of dough into equal sized rectangles. Prick with a fork, sprinkle with sugar, and bake as directed. When cool, frost one and place the second on top like a sandwich. Use a pizza cutter to cut the cookies into small squares. -OR- EVEN FASTER--instead of making sandwiches, cut each baked rectangle into squares, then pipe frosting (I use a star tip) onto each cookie. Fast and decorative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
These are some of my favorite cookies, and my family requests them every year at Christmas. It's essential that the butter be very soft before you mix the dough, and for that matter, the frosting. Also, make sure that the dough is very well chilled before rolling them out. I use a silicon rolling pin and place it in the freezer before I roll them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
All I can say for these is ...... OUTSTANDING!!!! I have had these for years. They were in my Betty Crocker Cookie Book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pocahontas, Illinois, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
This was a wonderful addition to my cookie repertoire. Instead of rolling my cookies out on a floured board, I rolled them out on a sugar sprinkled board. This eliminated the extra flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Romyko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I have been making these for 40 years and my son still insists on having them at Christmas!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Park Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
This same recipe has been in my famly for many years, and is called "Pariserwafier"--- Delicate crust with light filling, a DELIGHT no matter what you call it!!! I would add that we traditionally split the frosting into two bowls and colored one pink, one blue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Not sure why anyone would consider this a "rip off" from another recipe source?? I first had these 30 years ago when a co-worker brought them to work...they were delicious. I'm glad to see it here as I don't have a Betty Crocker cook book. They really melt in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
this is a rip off of the recipe in Betty Crocker. A family favorite. When my family gets together at Christmas, it never fails that all of us bring Creme Wafers! Well worth making. only giving 3 stars because this is not an original recipe and was published before
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I made these cookies for Easter and everyone raved! My hubby's new favorite! They are crisp, light, but also creamy... very different in a very good way. I didn't use the egg yolk because of the little ones, but it didn't seem to be missing anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4babes2luv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
this is a version of my family's all time greatest cookie. Ours uses light cream instead of heavy, which I couldnt even find on the west coast (light cream is abundant here in the NE). They take a little labor, but its well worth it. People will pause after the first bite and be overcome with how great they are. I roll them thinner than the photos are showing, and use a napkin ring as my cookie cutter. Grandma used a shot-glass :-) I agree with the other ratings, don't be afraid of the egg-yolk and definitely check it at 7 minutes. They should be just getting golden on the edges but overbake quickly. I also double the filling for perfect proportions. Detyails on the recipe -- chill the dough in thirds in flat disks. Take each disk out and leave at room temp for 10-15 minutes, then roll with just a bit of flour on surface and rolling pin. I rolled them this year directly on my granite counters and it worked great. I only prick the cookies with the fork twice and they don't puff up too big. Make them once and you will be a convert -- if Christmas is too much then make them for Easter and color them with pastels!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creme Brulee

Watch how to make this top-rated Creme Brulee.

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Boston Cream Pie

See how to make a wicked-good chocolate and vanilla-cream dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States