Swedish Cookies (Brunscrackers) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Are these suppose to be crunchy or chewy? I want to make them again and make 3 or 4 rolls instead of two. Two rolls seemed to fill my 18X13 inch cookie sheet and it seemed the rolls wanted to flatten out more. Crunchy or chewy? Grandpa Dave
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Wow! These are my new favorite cookie. I used vanilla (instead of vanilla sugar, which I couldn't find) and corn syrup (instead of golden syrup). Super delicious! But be warned that these cookies spread a LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
These are excellent!! They spread so I place each log on a separate cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPeters

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Yum, quick and easy cookies! I can't find vanilla beans or golden syrup out here in Hooterville so I used 1 tsp vanilla extract and maple syrup, then baked them as drop cookies for 8 minutes. The second time I made them I replaced half the sugar with dark brown sugar and they came out moist and chewy and just crisp around the edges. My new go-to when we just want some cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
These were delicious! I used margarine and substituted honey for the golden syrup. Simply scrumptious! My only issue was that the dough was very sticky and was not easy to make into rolls as the recipe might lead you to believe. It was a bit messy as I had to use my hands to settle the 'gloop' into log shapes across the baking pan...but so worth it for the tasty results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
These cookies are very similar to the classic Danish butter cookies that come in the tins during the holidays. Only they're richer and have much more flavour. I made these on a spur of the moment and only had 1/2 cup of butter, so I substituted 1/2 cup of Crisco and they still came out fabulous. I'll have to try the recipe as is when I can to see how they compare. But butter tends to make a crispier cookie, whereas oil tends to keep them more moist, and I really enjoyed the almost chewy quality of these in the center. Golden Syrup can be hard to find in grocery stores across rural America, but most specialty cooking supply stores carry it. I just substituted light corn syrup and a smidge of sorghum molasses. They go terrific with a cup of hot tea or coffee. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grüne Eier

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Princeton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cmartcookie
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Like a flat biscotti and very good without dipping into chocolate, even though you might be tempted! I used honey for syrup and pure vanilla extract instead of vanilla sugar. Since recipe said to make ~1" rolls, I made several to fit on parchment-lined baking sheets (see photos). Watch them in the oven! Even though I used margarine, one sheet took 20 minutes and the other batch took 15 min. To the 2nd batch, I added 1/4 cup baking cocoa - probably not traditional, but very good! I also added ~ 2/3 cup extra flour to each batch for high altitude (>7200') adjustment. Would be nice to see a photo of what these are supposed to look like, but this is my best guess! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmartcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I made a one inch thick bar that spread and browned on the edges as it baked but the center was a gooey mess. I cut the edges off and put it back in the oven. As it re-melted I had to shake the pan so it spread enough to bake properly. Rich and buttery... yes, if you can get past the puddle on your pan stage. That said, my 16 yr/o dd loves them, but I don't think I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Country Witch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Foreston, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This recipe was so delicious and SO easy to make! I used regular syrup instead of golden syrup because I was unsure what that was, but they came out great nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
I would make these again. The only thing I did differently from the recipe was to refrigerate the dough before cooking (it was quite sticky and difficult to work with) and then to bake them as drop cookies. I made these at a time when I was desperate for cookies but had absolutely no sugar on hand, but did have golden syrup, although I suppose you could use honey or corn syrup or molasses if you didn't have golden syrup. These turned out much, much better than expected. They did not taste the greatest straight out of the oven and looked quite flat, but once they had cooled they had a lovey slightly crisp but chewy, almost melt-in-your-mouth texture with a really nice buttery flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States