Swedish Cinnamon Twists Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Turned out beautiful. They do I think need to be eaten on the day though, but are so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENCH01

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
My whole family loved these! They taste like sweet, soft pretzels. The recipe was also very forgiving to my mistakes. If your dough won't rise try putting it in the oven at about 175 degrees F. Watch it carefully, you don't want a cooked ball of dough. These are so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daisy Mae
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I followed the recipe as is with the exception that I knew I was going to need more filling--I like lots of brown sugar and cinnamon. These were great--will definitely use this recipe for the holidays! thanks Cherie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
These tasted great, but were a bit difficult to work with. I had to add additional flour to form an actual dough instead of a sticky mess, but that made the dough difficult to roll out thin enough. Then, they untwisted themselves some while rising, so the presentation wasn't as nice as I would have liked. I like this idea, but I think next time I'll find another dough recipe that's easier to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
oh yummy yum yum!! These are very similar to a sweet dough coffee cake that I make around the holidays. So delicious! I didn't have buttermilk, so I made a substitute with vinegar and milk, which was just fine. And I accidentally melted the butter for the dough instead of softening, but it didn't seem to make a difference. I actually made them as Santa Lucia Buns (shaped like an "S" and adorned with two raisins in the curls) for my daughter's class, as they were learning about Sweden's celebrations. The real Santa Lucia Bun is made with saffron and cardamom, but I opted to make cinnamon ones because I thought they were more kid friendly. They were perfect and got rave reviews, even from the teachers. Can't wait to make again! Thanks Cherie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peachmarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Second time making these, this time I used a cream cheese cinnamon roll icing from the site. I used milk instead of buttermilk. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
OMGosh these were so good! I made them because I love all the pics that mominml submits so I had to check these out. They were so much easier for me to make than cinnamon rolls. I ended up with 36 nice size ones. Probably would have had more but I don't have a rolling pin so I pushed it around by hand. I did end up needing to make waaay more icing. After they cooled on the rack for a bit, (I laid them out bottom side up) I laid them bottom side down on wax paper and drizzled generously with icing. Most of them had 3 - 4 twists so the icing was able to really get down in the creases. These were just so so good. Too good. I hope I don't eat them all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Loved these. I only made 1/2 a batch for my family of 5 and came out with 13 twists, but they were big. I made the dough in my bread machine and then proceeded with the rest of the recipe. They rose beautifully and baked up nicely. I actually thought these were going to be much more difficult to make than they were, and they turned out so pretty. Will definitely be making these again. Kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I light fluffy twist on traditional cinnamon rolls. We loved these. They were very easy to make. In fact I found them quicker to make than actually making the rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Sweet mercy! These are fabulous. I made these this morning. My son and I just got finished eating some for an afternoon snack--so GOOD. The dough was very easy to handle. I did end up adding a little more flour, but that was probably my fault as I am not very good at kneading. I added a tiny bit of vanilla to the glaze. These are really, really good. Thanks so much for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy's Baking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States