Swedish Chocolate Balls (or Coconut Balls) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Great!.. 5 stars for no-bake, tasty, chewy and for making me eat oatmeal!.. I wasn't sure if I'd like oatmeal raw!. I was worried they'd be hard to chew but they wern't; tomorrow they may soften up a bit more but I like them as is!.. I rolled about half in the coconut and then some in chocolate sprinkles and some in powder sugar; I also used "Lindt 85% Cocoa Bar" (melted) instead of baking chocolate because I had some. I added about 1T of rum in the last half of the batch for the grownups; the rum/powder sugar ones were my favorites! Thanks I'll make these during the holidays!..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Holly
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I live in Sweden,but I am from the States and yes this is a staple in every house. The recipe for chocolate balls is on every package of oatmeal here. The only difference between this recipe and the original is the melted chocolate. These are just as good without the melted chocolate, it is an extra step that you can skip....Or not... Var så god!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Orebro, Orebro, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
love love love these so easy so tasty. i dusted half with unsweetened cocoa and half with powdered sugar (instead of coconut) great presentation great bitter chocolate/sweet chocolate dichotomy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Cline

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lebanon, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
OMG, Angelica! Change your name to Angel! I'd give this 100*s if I could! This is exactly what my Norwegian Grandmother fed me when I was sick as a little kid! I had forgotten! They're so quick, so easy, and oh so freakin' GOOD! Yes, please! More Swedish recipes! YUMMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparkytoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
My husband, who is from Sweden, loved these chocolate balls. He said it reminded him of home and was so excited when he tried them because they tasted exactly how he remembered them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
These are a joy for your taste buds! I mix the coconut in with the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coco & Isa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I gave these out as part of my Christmas cookie platter to family, friends and neighbors; and it was everyone's favorite. Best once they sit and meld flavors for a day. Yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
These are a treat I remember as a child as well, and have been looking for a similar recipe, and this is it! I added a touch more strong liquid coffee, and some coconut in the mix as well. They turned out superb, I know everyone will love them as much as I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Quick, easy and delicious! Perfect for the holidays! I topped them with melted chocolate chips and then sprinkled with coconut. Another idea would be to add a whole almond to the top or middle of each. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Soooooooooo goooooooood!!! Thank you soo much!!! A added 1 tbls. of rum, made it tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alondra Solá

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States