Swedish Angel Crisps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2001
A very nice cookie, extremely light and crisp. A few notes: make sure the nuts are very finely chopped; I also needed far more than just a half a cup to roll the cookies in. Adding the cocoa makes a delicious cookie, but it's misleading to call it 'brownie like' . If you're not fond of nuts or don't have them on hand, the cocoa version is good even without them, especially if you mix a small amount of cinnamon into the sugar that you roll them in. Lastly, I usually refrigerate sugar cookie doughs before I shape them, to make them easier to handle, but don't do that with this recipe; the dough is soft, but manageable, and it holds the nuts better at room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Makes a very delicious and tender cookie. I added chopped nuts directly to the dough and rolled in cinnamon sugar, topping with a few additional nuts. Other ideas are to top with chocolate kisses or add chocolate chips to the dough. Cookies do spread, I would suggest placing about 3" apart. Baked for 9-10 minutes just until light brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Fabulous. I am swedish and we also love almond anything! I used almond extract instead of vanilla. and used finally chopped almonds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
this recipe is awsome!!!! i added chocolate chips insted of walnuts and rolled the balls in cinnamon sugar everyone was beging for seconds i will definatly make this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thomasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
This is a very good basic cookie. I made them per the recipe, but left off the nuts as I was out. I believe they would be even better with almond extract to give them a decidedly Swedish flare. Bake untill they are light brown around the edges and they will melt in your mouth. Great with tea or coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2000
VERY TASTY...WE MADE OURS WITH PECANS...THEY WERE ON HAND...DON'T MAKE TOO LARGE. A SIZE OF A HAZLENUT INSTEAD OF A WALNUT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
These are one of my favorite cookies to make for Christmas. They have such a wonderful delicate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HISTORYGIRL04

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Lakeside, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
instead of rolling the nuts on the outstide, i mixed it in on accident, but either way it was d-LiSH! everyone who has tried it loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by idnYc naRt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
These are simple, but delicious! Instead of walnuts, I used almonds (just personal preference) and also rolled them in cinnamon to give them more flavor. I really really like them with the cinnamon, though I think they would be good without it as well. Be careful not to overbake. My first batch was a little crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I am definitely a novice, but I'm very pleased with the results of this recipe....Now let's see what my family thinks. This is the first time I have ever baked a Christmas cookie...I used the 1/3 cup cocoa, and everything else was according to Barbara's recipe. Merry Christmas to all and to all a good night/day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob T.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States