Swanson® Ultra Creamy Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Great recipe for "ultra creamy" mashed potatoes! It's straight forward and just plain delicious. The perfect mashed potato to accompnay your favorite gravy! I always heat up my milk (light cream)in the microwave for a bit before adding it to the potatoes. This is a great base for add-in's to change it up. You just can't go wrong with this classic recipe for comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
To help those who end up with wall paper paste, I cut my potatoes in thin slices or small pieces and rinse them in a collander BEFORE boiling. This technique will get rid of much of the starch that can make glue out of your potatoes. ALSO putting them through a hand held food mill OR a potato ricer makes quite a difference. I use SALTED butter, and add extra salt and instead of pepper I use Mrs. Dash which will really add some pep to the dish. I usually Taste the potatoes up to 4 times, adding seasoning until they are just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LWS777

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
These potatoes are probably the best I've ever made - and the only way I'll make them from here on out. My suggestion for the glue factor is to NOT put cold butter/whipping cream into your steaming hot potatoes. That along with over mixing will certainly cause them to "seize" up. I melt my butter in my cream and after it comes to a simmer I add it in. Thanks for the recipe! YUM!! (oh, and I added some salt as I used the reduced sodium chicken broth)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spicymama29

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I made these potatoes for Thanksgiving this year and they were the best mashed potatoes I have ever had! My daughter said, "if I could taste a cloud, I know this is what it would taste like." I used Yukon Gold potatoes. AFter draining the chicken broth, I used my electric mixer until potatoes were smooth. Then added warmed half and half, melted butter and approximately 1/2 cup of the reserved broth. I added salt and pepper to taste and....PERFECTION. I would give this recipe 10 stars if I could. Best mashed potatoes ever! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
YUM! Any potatoe is a friend of mine,,this dish is a GOOD FRIEND! We love it,just add some crated cheddar cheese on top!Gotta sneak calcium in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
wall paper paste oh yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Bognanni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
This is a fine recipe - a couple of tips to avoid gluey potatoes, bring the broth and potatoes almost to a boil, reduce heat and just simmer until tender. Do not over mix them or you develop the potato starch and your potatoes turn gummy. I put the butter and cream in with the hot potatoes, cover and allow the butter to melt. Mash with a hand masher - add some reserved broth and finish stirring and mashing. If you don't have cream milk works just as well and saves you a few calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I loooove this potatoes! They're absolutely heavenly! The only thing was that I found 'light cream' hard to find, so I ended up using whipping cream. Delicious! I also recommend adding a dash of garlic powder, and a tablespoon salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Boiling the potatoes in broth adds an unbelievable amount of flavor to mashed potatoes! Adding the reserved broth just makes them better. I gave this only four stars because I like it better with half & half or heavy cream but this is an excellent start to a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
omg these are amazing. when i first made them i thought they tasted like kfc potatoes without the msg. on the second day they seem to need a little salt but this is my favorite recipe now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ebony
Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States